Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this for a Thanksgiving appetizer. Simply delicious! The sweetness of the dates goes great with the saltiness of the bacon. I stuffed half of them with almonds and the other half with water chestnuts, and they both turned out great. Overall, very simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These are very good! I used up the dates I had leftover from date nut bars. My husband was skeptical but quickly won over. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These are pretty darn tasty! I used the black label bacon, and it was nice, but next time I'm getting the thicker cut stuff from the meat counter. One of the guys at the dinner came late, after everyone else had tried them (and loved them). He was looking at them suspiciously, and was enthusiastically talked into "doing the date." His comment? "Oh, there WILL be a second date."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OVIEDOGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a family favorite.....We actually stuff a piece of pineapple inside, wrap the date with bacon then roll it into a spicy dry mix......talk about incorporating every flavor.....sweet, salty, tangy and spicy all in one bite!! Only downside.....they don't look very pretty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
sooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have also made these several times and they are a Big hit, I also drizzle a little bit of Balsamic vinegar over them and sprinkle some feta cheese Awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
How can you not love these? Bring this to a get-together and everyone will love you. Substitute turkey bacon for regular bacon to make it healthier. Seems that you should broil 5 minutes, then pull out and turn them over and broil another 5 minutes to get a good, even cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
A really big hit at our party. I used regular Dole dates from the dried fruit section and thick cut bacon., only 1/2 or even 1/3 a piece per date was needed. Delicious. they go from getting crispy to burning in the oven quickly, so you really have to watch them, and make sure your pan has a lip to catch the fat run off, we made a bit of a mess in our oven. I had these at a wedding once several years ago and never forgot them. I was so happy to find a recipe here - this will be a standard party app for us from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
We are not date fans, but I got a bunch in a Christmas basket and hunted for ways to cook with them. I used smokehouse almonds, and thought they came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
We made this for a Christmas party we hosted this year...we only used the bacon and dates. It was a huge hit! I gave it 4 stars because we did have some leftovers and some of our other appetizers were gone...but my husband and I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States