Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe has been an old stand by for years. It's quick and I almost always have the ingr. on hand. Howeve I made one switch years ago that has saved a lot of time. Instead of using the whole almond I use almond butter(and sometimes peanut butter) in the middle of the date. It makes it so much easier to get the toothpick in. I bake instead of broil to have the even cooking of the bacon. Yum. My sister also brushes hers with real maple syrup before putting in the oven. I don't thought, to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were amazing! Cooked on the bbq until the bacon was crisp. Went in a flash. It was quite a surprise that my picky husband even liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
what an awesome recipe, they taste like candy. Where have I been, I've never even heard of them? This is something you can assemble ahead - wrap and chill in the fridge for a party. I lined the baking sheet with foil, used thick sliced bacon and salted almonds. I baked @ 400 for 17+ min (watch carefully-they are easy to over cook), with no toothpick(make sure to slightly overlap bacon so they won't unroll, if you aren't using toothpicks), added the toothpicks while cooling. The recipe is simple and crowd pleasing. They aren't the prettiest appetizer I've ever made, some even thought they looked unappetizing- but have anyone to try them- even if they don't like dates, and they will LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
We love these, perfect balance of sweet and salty flavor with a crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My Mom makes this every year for our family's Christmas Eve Appetizer Potluck Party. We call it Devils on Horseback (there are also Angels on Horseback - same thing but with oysters instead of dates and almonds). The only change we make is to drizzle a little orange juice concentrate on top of them right beofre they go in the oven. DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sillyconniegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made these for a dinner party and they were a huge hit!! I did half of them with just the almond in them, the other half I did with the almond and a small piece of feta. Definitely a great mix of the sweet/salty that so many people like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
We make these regularly and also have them at a local Cuban restaurant as an appetizer. At Havana Cafe in Phoenix, az, they stuff the date with a little lsice of SPANISH Chorizo. (NOT mexican ground up chorizo-there is a huge diference). These are a huge hit whenever we make them or take folks to dinner at Havana. I do them in the oven in the winter and on the BBQ in the summer. We also sometimes used peppered backon (applewood smoked from Nueske's in WI only) they ship.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made them for a get together. Everyone loved them. I cooked the bacon a little bit before I wrapped the dates, I like my bacon extra crisp. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Bottom, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I make those with walnuts and they turn out fantastic. You can substitute dates with Prunes-I ate them once at friend`s place and it was equally good. I usually use oven but I cooked it once in the microwave and even that was good :D Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone loved them at our Christmas party. All were pleasantly surprised by the crunch inside. Reading the reviews from others, I took the advice to use thick-sliced bacon. I made some with the dates stuffed with almonds, as well as water chestnuts. Both versions were loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States