Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Left out the almonds and deep fried it like another review suggested. I loved the consistency. Next time I'll try it with the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Bake for 400 for 20. I used thick bacon cut in thirds, no tooth pics. I put a variety of things in them: cream cheese/ jalapenos cream cheese/ whole almond cream cheese/ jalapeno and kalmata olives whole almond only cream cheese/ slivered almonds/jalapenos And maybe more ... they were all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I use smoked almonds, and I use 1/3 of a slice of bacon to wrap each date. First time I took these to a family reunion, they were the first appetizer gone. Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alnkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These didn't last long at New Years and I have a picky family. I'll make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Served christmas eve to our guests and I could tell people were trying not to eat them all up but really wanting more! Used dates from a bulk bin where we could easily slip a raw almond inside. Used turkey bacon because that's what we had on hand. Be careful - one of our dates still had a pit in it. Served with maple syrup dipping sauce that our guests loved! Great for people trying to eat paleo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Really easy to put together and get into the oven! It was such an unusual treat for my family, but everyone who tried one loved it! I made the mistake of getting low-sodium bacon. I'd recommend regular bacon b/c the salt with the sweet was lacking a bit with low-sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I have made these a few times and they are always a great hit at parties. I've had the best results with dates that were sealed in their own container (I used bulk dates last time and they were slightly dry). Also, bacon really needs to be old fashioned thick sliced bacon, it makes a HUGE difference and then you only need 1/2 a slice for each date. I use 1/2 a pecan and feta to stuff the dates and they are awesome!!! Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We have always made these for parties at our house. They are usually the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gorf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Had something very similar at The Painted Pony - an upscale restaurant in Saint George, Utah. The only difference was they added crumbled bleu cheese on top and drizzled with a port wine reduction. I'm sure they also used applewood smoked bacon. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is a great easy appetizer. I have also made them using walnuts and they come out great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States