Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had these at a party a good number of years ago and still remember them because I think I ate 20 and only felt slightly guilty. They were soooo good! I don't remember whether they were raw or cooked almonds but I do remember they were cooked over a gas grill and served still warm. Sweet, salty and nutty. I will make these again soon but will try them over a charcoal grill. These are the ultimate party appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I had bought a package of dates rolled in chopped almonds and wanted to use them up. I decided to try them with this recipe. I chopped the date with almonds in half, and wrapped half a strip of bacon around it. It turned out delicious! Being health-conscious, I couldn't eat more than a couple, but this makes for a tasty and filling appetizer! Not to mention ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
simple is always better- so yummy! Can't go wrong with this app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
In looking for different appetizers, I liked this idea. My son who lives in Manhatten confirmed it was good so I tried it for a holiday party. BIG HIT!! And so easy. I did it the morning of the event and used the oven at 350 so I could dovetail other prep. While it took longer, not as likely to burn if you're busy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this for a Thanksgiving appetizer. Simply delicious! The sweetness of the dates goes great with the saltiness of the bacon. I stuffed half of them with almonds and the other half with water chestnuts, and they both turned out great. Overall, very simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These are very good! I used up the dates I had leftover from date nut bars. My husband was skeptical but quickly won over. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These are pretty darn tasty! I used the black label bacon, and it was nice, but next time I'm getting the thicker cut stuff from the meat counter. One of the guys at the dinner came late, after everyone else had tried them (and loved them). He was looking at them suspiciously, and was enthusiastically talked into "doing the date." His comment? "Oh, there WILL be a second date."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a family favorite.....We actually stuff a piece of pineapple inside, wrap the date with bacon then roll it into a spicy dry mix......talk about incorporating every flavor.....sweet, salty, tangy and spicy all in one bite!! Only downside.....they don't look very pretty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
sooooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have also made these several times and they are a Big hit, I also drizzle a little bit of Balsamic vinegar over them and sprinkle some feta cheese Awesome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States