Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We use a small slice of hard parmesean cheese instead of the nut... I've also had it stuffed with blue cheese. It is yummilicious any way you make it. I like tu use the 'center cut' style bacon, it's generally better quality, spendy so look for sales &coupons... Vows has it buy one get one free and I use one pack & freeze the other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have always made these with pecans. If the pecans are big, I break them in half lengthwise so they fit in the date. I bake at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These are great but better with pecans inside!! It gives it a maple taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I can't believe these have become popular once more! They were the absolute high end cocktail party fave's during the early '50's and would be the first to disappear. I prefer to use low sodium bacon as it truly compliments the flavour of the dates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have been making these for years but with pecans rather than almonds, which we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have been making these apps for years. Always delish!! A nice variation is to skip the almonds and after wrapping the date, roll in a small bowl of brown sugar with a few shakes of cayenne pepper mixed in. It gives a slight kick and is even more yummy. Also quicker to do, since the almond in the middle interfers with sticking the tootpick through. Be sure to bake with this method, not broil because the sugar will burn too quickly in the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This might be the most surprisingly delicious appetizer I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These were delicious. You should try making them as well substituting parmesan cheese for the almond. Sweet, salty, savoury....YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Made these for a wedding reception that was finger foods only, and these went down a complete storm! Delicious combination of sweet and salty. Make more than you think you'll need; people can't stay away from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
These are easy to make and a huge hit! I precook the bacon a little first which makes them less greasy. They are great with dried apricots instead of dates, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States