Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We have always made these for parties at our house. They are usually the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gorf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Had something very similar at The Painted Pony - an upscale restaurant in Saint George, Utah. The only difference was they added crumbled bleu cheese on top and drizzled with a port wine reduction. I'm sure they also used applewood smoked bacon. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is a great easy appetizer. I have also made them using walnuts and they come out great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I made these this weekend, and they were awesome! I used thick-cut bacon and baked them at 400 for about 20 minute, I think. Also, I pressed some brown sugar on the bottom of the pyrex dish before placing the dates in it and also sprinkled a little bit on top of them. It made a really great combo with the bacon. I also made half without almonds and were just as good, if not better. They were definitely a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This recipe has been an old stand by for years. It's quick and I almost always have the ingr. on hand. Howeve I made one switch years ago that has saved a lot of time. Instead of using the whole almond I use almond butter(and sometimes peanut butter) in the middle of the date. It makes it so much easier to get the toothpick in. I bake instead of broil to have the even cooking of the bacon. Yum. My sister also brushes hers with real maple syrup before putting in the oven. I don't thought, to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
These were amazing! Cooked on the bbq until the bacon was crisp. Went in a flash. It was quite a surprise that my picky husband even liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
what an awesome recipe, they taste like candy. Where have I been, I've never even heard of them? This is something you can assemble ahead - wrap and chill in the fridge for a party. I lined the baking sheet with foil, used thick sliced bacon and salted almonds. I baked @ 400 for 17+ min (watch carefully-they are easy to over cook), with no toothpick(make sure to slightly overlap bacon so they won't unroll, if you aren't using toothpicks), added the toothpicks while cooling. The recipe is simple and crowd pleasing. They aren't the prettiest appetizer I've ever made, some even thought they looked unappetizing- but have anyone to try them- even if they don't like dates, and they will LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
We love these, perfect balance of sweet and salty flavor with a crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My Mom makes this every year for our family's Christmas Eve Appetizer Potluck Party. We call it Devils on Horseback (there are also Angels on Horseback - same thing but with oysters instead of dates and almonds). The only change we make is to drizzle a little orange juice concentrate on top of them right beofre they go in the oven. DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sillyconniegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I made these for a dinner party and they were a huge hit!! I did half of them with just the almond in them, the other half I did with the almond and a small piece of feta. Definitely a great mix of the sweet/salty that so many people like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States