Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I tried these using figs and they were delicious. It's what I had on hand. I can't wait to try them with dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is my favorite appetizer. Dangerous. I could eat them all myself. I freeze these well ahead. I made the mistake one year of using a maple bacon and ooh, way too sweet for me. I also use pecans instead of the almonds. Personal preference I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
As a professional caterer I am always looking for new appetizers to delight the palate of my customers. This is extremely delish and easy. I used cashews instead of almonds and it was and is very good. Highly recommend this for anyone wanting something sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Left out the almonds and deep fried it like another review suggested. I loved the consistency. Next time I'll try it with the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Bake for 400 for 20. I used thick bacon cut in thirds, no tooth pics. I put a variety of things in them: cream cheese/ jalapenos cream cheese/ whole almond cream cheese/ jalapeno and kalmata olives whole almond only cream cheese/ slivered almonds/jalapenos And maybe more ... they were all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I use smoked almonds, and I use 1/3 of a slice of bacon to wrap each date. First time I took these to a family reunion, they were the first appetizer gone. Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alnkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These didn't last long at New Years and I have a picky family. I'll make them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Served christmas eve to our guests and I could tell people were trying not to eat them all up but really wanting more! Used dates from a bulk bin where we could easily slip a raw almond inside. Used turkey bacon because that's what we had on hand. Be careful - one of our dates still had a pit in it. Served with maple syrup dipping sauce that our guests loved! Great for people trying to eat paleo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Really easy to put together and get into the oven! It was such an unusual treat for my family, but everyone who tried one loved it! I made the mistake of getting low-sodium bacon. I'd recommend regular bacon b/c the salt with the sweet was lacking a bit with low-sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States