Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made these for a small gathering and they were a big hit. I followed other reviewer recommendations and baked them and I skipped the almonds for allergy reasons. After baking I stuffed some of them with goat cheese which made them even better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe..my husband tweaked it by stuffing in a jalapeno pepper.Just seed out pepper and stuff whole thing in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Delicious and easy. Well received at a girlfriend party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We use a small slice of hard parmesean cheese instead of the nut... I've also had it stuffed with blue cheese. It is yummilicious any way you make it. I like tu use the 'center cut' style bacon, it's generally better quality, spendy so look for sales &coupons... Vows has it buy one get one free and I use one pack & freeze the other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have always made these with pecans. If the pecans are big, I break them in half lengthwise so they fit in the date. I bake at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These are great but better with pecans inside!! It gives it a maple taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I can't believe these have become popular once more! They were the absolute high end cocktail party fave's during the early '50's and would be the first to disappear. I prefer to use low sodium bacon as it truly compliments the flavour of the dates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have been making these for years but with pecans rather than almonds, which we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have been making these apps for years. Always delish!! A nice variation is to skip the almonds and after wrapping the date, roll in a small bowl of brown sugar with a few shakes of cayenne pepper mixed in. It gives a slight kick and is even more yummy. Also quicker to do, since the almond in the middle interfers with sticking the tootpick through. Be sure to bake with this method, not broil because the sugar will burn too quickly in the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This might be the most surprisingly delicious appetizer I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States