Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Was very easy to make and came out delicious. Instead of Broiling I set the oven at 350 and let them cook for about 30 minutes (15 minutes in turning them over). Also, no need for toothpicks while in the oven if you make sure the flap/unrolled end of the bacon is at the bottom of the pan when you first put them in the oven,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Love these! They were a HUGE hit at my dinner party! I followed the other suggestions of baking them at 400 instead of broiling for a bit longer, and used aluminum foil on the bottom of the pan to reduce cleanup--they they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
While this was yummy. We like to stuff the date with manchego cheese. When we can not get the quality of manchego, we opt for the almond. Also, the thick slice bacon and baking at 400 degrees is the better option (less charring and more even cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made these for a small gathering and they were a big hit. I followed other reviewer recommendations and baked them and I skipped the almonds for allergy reasons. After baking I stuffed some of them with goat cheese which made them even better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe..my husband tweaked it by stuffing in a jalapeno pepper.Just seed out pepper and stuff whole thing in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Delicious and easy. Well received at a girlfriend party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We use a small slice of hard parmesean cheese instead of the nut... I've also had it stuffed with blue cheese. It is yummilicious any way you make it. I like tu use the 'center cut' style bacon, it's generally better quality, spendy so look for sales &coupons... Vows has it buy one get one free and I use one pack & freeze the other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have always made these with pecans. If the pecans are big, I break them in half lengthwise so they fit in the date. I bake at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These are great but better with pecans inside!! It gives it a maple taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I can't believe these have become popular once more! They were the absolute high end cocktail party fave's during the early '50's and would be the first to disappear. I prefer to use low sodium bacon as it truly compliments the flavour of the dates
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States