Bacon and Date Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
make them with pecans instead and bake them definitely. Try dipping them in maple syrup - AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were great! Everyone loved them. We also tried them with blue cheese instead of almonds and blue cheese with almonds and everyone liked the plain almond ones the best. I cooked them at 375 for 40 min, flipping them over half way through the baking time. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great premise, but the dates were more pliable (and more easily stuffed) when briefly dipped into hot water before slicing them. In deference to the holder folks with slipperty teeth, I used two strips of almonds rather than a full almond. Deli bacon is best, but I still cut off the excess fat, and then baked them instead of broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Was very easy to make and came out delicious. Instead of Broiling I set the oven at 350 and let them cook for about 30 minutes (15 minutes in turning them over). Also, no need for toothpicks while in the oven if you make sure the flap/unrolled end of the bacon is at the bottom of the pan when you first put them in the oven,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Love these! They were a HUGE hit at my dinner party! I followed the other suggestions of baking them at 400 instead of broiling for a bit longer, and used aluminum foil on the bottom of the pan to reduce cleanup--they they came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
While this was yummy. We like to stuff the date with manchego cheese. When we can not get the quality of manchego, we opt for the almond. Also, the thick slice bacon and baking at 400 degrees is the better option (less charring and more even cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made these for a small gathering and they were a big hit. I followed other reviewer recommendations and baked them and I skipped the almonds for allergy reasons. After baking I stuffed some of them with goat cheese which made them even better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe..my husband tweaked it by stuffing in a jalapeno pepper.Just seed out pepper and stuff whole thing in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Delicious and easy. Well received at a girlfriend party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
We use a small slice of hard parmesean cheese instead of the nut... I've also had it stuffed with blue cheese. It is yummilicious any way you make it. I like tu use the 'center cut' style bacon, it's generally better quality, spendy so look for sales &coupons... Vows has it buy one get one free and I use one pack & freeze the other
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States