Bacon and Caramelized Onion Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I forgot to add in the cheese before rolling these up, but I did top with a little cheese and these were really good as is. Next time I make these, the cheese will add even more. I added in garlic to my onions and smoked paprika to the flour mixture, because I didn't have smoked cheddar. I was looking for a roll to go with grilled type food and these are the perfect fit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent, just follow the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Something went wrong here. The flavor was not bad, they definitely have potential. But I didn't put them in muffin cups, and I think that was part of the problem. I put them on cookie sheets, and I could watch them get flatter and flatter, rising more sideways than up. We ended up with something we referred to as "flatbread". I also didn't have onions, so I skipped those, I don't know if that had to do with it too. I'm not sure if I'll try again. Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These were ok, nothing special. Usually everyone eats all of my rolls, but I had leftovers with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My family adored these rolls! I made them to go with a loaded baked potato soup recipe my mother's had for years and these rolls were the perfect complement. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These were absolutely great. I made some changes (I always do, can't help it). I added some shallots with the onions, then about half way through caramelizing I added some minced fresh rosemary. I also used more of everything (bacon, cheese, onions) and added some fresh chopped chives for colour and flavour. I didn't have any wine, so I just skipped it...the onions are sweet and I don't think I missed much by leaving it out. I would emphasize that the onions need at least 20 minutes over medium heat to be perfect...rushing will ruin them. I didn't have smoked cheese, so I used aged cheddar instead. Flavour and texture was perfect. The only minor criticism I can think of is that 3T of butter for brushing left me with at least 1T left wasted. Oh, and I also cut them a bit too large and came out with 8 rolls....but they were cooked at 22 minutes...any smaller and I think they would have been over-done at that time. Make sure the muffin tin is really well greased...I think I will try just baking them on a tray next time. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
this was great we did not have smoked cheese so we just used regular. there is a lot you can do with this maybe melt soe cheese over the top add some other fillings you can just go on and on with this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
simply amazing as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These rolls are a huge hit with my family. I make the dough in my bread machine as a time saver and for dough consistancy. The first time I tried the recipe, I used all purpose flour per the directions. I don't recommend using all purpose flour if you are going to use a bread machine. :) I now use 2 1/2 cups of bread flour when making the dough. Works great. I use rice wine vinegar and 1 TBS sugar instead of port when carmelizing the onions per another reviewer's suggestion. I end up with 15 nice sized rolls that are baked like cinnamon rolls on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used my bread machine and made a basic dinner roll dough then followed steps exactly as listed. A+ and then some! Not complicated at all and they turned out beautifully! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States