Bacon and Bourbon Thanksgiving Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I LOVE bourbon, bacon, and rye bread so this was perfect. If you don't like one of those things, then don't even try this! The flavors actually go really well together, and nothing overpowers anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
For the review written about stuffing...Stuffing is prepared in the bird. If its prepared separately its called DRESSING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this for a thanksgiving potluck my friends and i (all students) had. It went over VERY well. I only used 4 cups of chicken stock for the full recipe, but I doubled the bacon, and made one pan turkey bacon one pan regular bacon as some of my friends are kosher. I fed the chicken stock into the stuffing as it was baking, and only mixed a little in with the bourbon. You do NOT want a full cup of bourbon. I could have definitely put more bourbon in, but I wanted less vs more. Overall it went very very well, and since my boyfriend didn't like rye bread I used italian bread and pumpernickel and it was great. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Good, but I thought it would be baconier....also directions don't tell you when to add bacon but I just did it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kvruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Sorry I had high hopes for this stuffing but I used a less amount of chicken stock and it was mush when it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made 'half' a recipe. No way do the cubes need a quart of stock. I already put the bourbon in the bowl in anticipation of adding the quart or more of chicken stock. Big mistake. It was a bourbon overload. Ruined everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was a good stuffing. The bourbon is noticeable but not too overbearing. As for the conversation about sogginess: I agree that it pays to use commonsense when using a new recipe, but there was twice as much liquid as I needed in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We only had white bread, so that's what I used. Also, definitely follow the advice of other reviewers in regards to adding the liquid. You do not need that much, and you need to add it only until it soaks into the bread. Then stop adding! I made a quarter of the recipe since we don't need 2 9x13 pans of stuffing, and I used 1 cup of chicken stock instead of 2. I think bf would've liked this more without the bourbon--and I only added a a tablespoon or so of it. Other than that, this was a nice stuffing. I'd prefer the darker breads the recipe called for, but we have way too much bread right now for me to get something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This stuffing is AWESOME. I live abroad and we made this for our "orphan American" Thanksgiving celebration and it was an enormous, heartwarming hit. I agree with everyone else that there is way too much liquid in the recipe but it's nothing you can't solve by just monitoring it as you mix as well as during the baking process. I ended up "feeding" the stuffing a little bourbon and stock as it baked so it didn't dry out. It was amazing. Thumbs way up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States