Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe. As with most recipes, I put it on steroids with more onion and bacon. Usually have the cheese on the side for those who care for it. It's a big hit in our Holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was pretty good. My family aren't huge fans of blue or feta cheese but this went over well. I used baby sprouts so I didn't shred them, went easy on the cheese and omitted the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was excellent! Was looking for a different way to make brussels sprouts and this was perfect! I did use a sweet onion vs. a red onion instead. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was surprisingly good. I love bacon, but was grossed out at the thought of using all the bacon grease, so I discarded most of it. Used just a small amount of gorgonzola cheese, maybe 1/4 of a cup. I had never made Brussels sprouts and wasn't exactly sure how to prepare them...we removed several of the outer leaves and trimmed off the bottom stalk, then cut them in half, lengthwise. I don't think there is any need to "thinly slice" them, as the recipe indicates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Delicious. I use prosciutto instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I understand this recipe was designed for those who may not enjoy the taste of brussel sprouts, but for someone like me who does enjoy their flavor, I found this dish to be a bit overwhelming, flavor-wise. I substituted bleu cheese, and only used 1/4 the amount the recipe called for. It was good, but in the future I would skip the cheese and dijon. I think the bacon drippings and crumbles add plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohannaVanMoor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I have made this so many times already I can't believe I haven't rated it until now. I have a friend who requests this when she comes for dinner and over the weekend we had her birthday dinner. Her father called me the next day for the recipe, he was making it again for that night! I like it better when I sub chicken stock for the water. I use fresh sprouts and they do take longer than 4-6 minutes to make them tender. I have to admit, I never use the vinegar, I'm not much of a vinegar person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have tried to like Brussels sprouts for years and FINALLY I have found the right recipe. Roasting the sprouts first was a plus. I drizzled the vinegar on the sprouts and let them sit for about 15 minutes before adding the sprouts into the final step. Got the little bit of the tang of vinegar without the bite. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Made this tonight. Simple easy recipe and so freaking good. The whole famdamly loved it, including my 3 dogs! But really how can you go wrong with the 3 b's...bacon, blue cheese and brussel sprouts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 Dogs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Great dish! My husband hates cabbage, but this was a hit. Made it according to the directins, but I substituted with Feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States