Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was the first time I've ever purchased fresh burssel sprouts, (I think I've only purchased frozen once before). Both my husband and I LOVED this recipe and I don't even care much for Blue Cheese, (Gorgonzola is a type of Blue Cheese). I did see later that the author of this recipe said to slice the sprouts thinly to reduce cooking time and keep brussel sprouts crispy. I will do this next time, and there will be a next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My wife cleaned her plate and that says a lot. I loved this recipe and will make this over and over.I did modify a little because i don't care for blue cheese. I used extra sharp cheddar and added half a bag of real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodneyga

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is one of our absolute favorite side dishes! Obviously, it's not the healthiest, but it's quite a treat! Hubby loves to request this one any time he sees blue cheese. I'm sure it will be a staple for us for years. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is the best recipe I have ever had using brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I only had frozen sprouts and this turned out great! I followed the recipe, probably used a bit extra vinegar and gorgonzola, but that's to my taste:) great recipe since i'm not a big fan of brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I'm the submitter of this recipe. As I look at the photos that people have added I notice that the brussels sprouts look to be halved or even whole. One of the most important steps in this recipe, in my opinion, is to slice the sprouts very thinly, almost shred them - the way you would shred cabbage for cole slaw. This keeps the cooking time down so the sprouts don't get mushy - they remain somewhat 'al dente' particularly if you cook somewhat like a stir fry. Also, AR modified my instructions and say to add the vinegar when you add the sprouts. I don't do that. I add the vinegar after the sprouts are finished cooking - stirring it in right before tossing with the bacon and gorgonzola. It gives the dish a nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Unbelievable!! These were the high spot of a WONDERFUL meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner yesterday, and it was a BIG hit! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have any Gorgonzola so I spooned in about a half cup of bleu cheese salad dressing. It was AWESOME! Even the kids like it! My husband, who is picky, said "This is a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdinsun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Served this with beef tenderloin and it was a HUGE hit! It's different and sophisticated--the perfect side dish to a special meal. With the addendum from the recipe originator, I chose to shred the brussel spouts and stir-fry until tender-crisp. Having it all prepped and ready to go made it easy even @ the last minute. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This recipe is awesome! My husband thought I was crazy making brussel sprouts- until I put this dish in front of him, and he devoured it! Great addition of bacon- and we used feta cheese instead of blue... it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States