Back-Burner Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Boy was I glad to find this recipe! It was delicious, easy, low calorie and authentic. My family likes things a little spicy, so I made a the following additions: an extra pinch of both red and black pepper, 1 Tbsp of fresh garlic, double the amount of Italian seasoning, and a sprig of each of fresh herbs- parsley, marjoram, basil and oregano. I think the original recipe would be good as well, maybe a bit bland for us. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is our new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I am trying this recipe today and I thought I'd share since I read someone saying it was a bit bitter. That is from the eggplant. If you first chop and soak eggplant in salt water for about 30 minutes, it takes that bitterness out of the eggplant and makes dishes with eggplant super enjoyable. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Did the original recipe and some additions. Added organic cauliflower, green cabbage, real organic tomatoes instead of canned and pressed garlic instead of powder. Excellent. Will make amaranth as a side with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUE633

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I also made this in the crock pot. I used a little more zucchini and eggplant than called for, turned out great. It's really better the next day or two. I toasted some thin slices of ciabatta on the grill ,put this on top along with chopped pepperoni and mozzarella cheese. Put under broiler for a minute or two. Excellent! Hubs wants it again this week! I'll serve it with a big Italian salad. Can't wait! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very good. A little runny. Next time I might try draining the tomatoes a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
At first I thought I added too many veggies because the pot was near full. Once it started to cook down the amount of veggies was right on the money! Recipe was delicious and my house smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delicious, healthy, and satisfying all in one meal! I used the crockpot method and made the dish twice...both times i got rave reviews from my family. I did not have yellow squash to add but it didn't matter, it was wonderful. I like to serve it in a bowl with a 1/4 cup light ricotta on top...mmm will be making this many times for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Pretty good....but I felt it was a little bit bitter....great way to use fresh garden veggies...and thats what I did...was gifted eggplants, zucchini, yellow squash and peppers.....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by farmgirl291
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I have never had ratatouille in my 20 years of life until recently and since then I've been dying to try and make it myself. I love how simple this recipe is, just veggies and seasoning. I used fresh diced tomatoes, and red and yellow peppers instead of zucchini as well as some cabbage and cremini mushrooms. Even my squash hating, meat and potatoes of a guy father liked it! The giant kettle was nearly gone within a few hours! Definitely a good recipe to have in your back pocket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Scandia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Disney’s Ratatouille

Colorful vegetables bake in a garlicky tomato sauce.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Ratatouille

Summer’s tastiest vegetables converge in this classic casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States