Bachelor's Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very tasty. I like that it is relatively easy (took a while to chop onions and grate potatoes, so next time I'll use frozen hash browns and buy onions already chopped), but if you don't add a bunch of sauces and cheese, etc., it's fairly healthy. Kind of like a soup in casserole form. I might try adding some garlic and maybe some tomatoes or tomato paste next time. But overall, I liked it. I also had trouble fitting this recipe into an 8x8 pan -- had to cut back to fit it in my pan -- needs a very deep 8x8 or a larger pan for this recipe. Also had trouble getting the bacon done and wound up frying it and putting it back on the casserole. You could skip the bacon if you didn't want to mess with it or wanted to avoid the fat and it would still be tasty. Didn't find it bland at all -- maybe the bland reviews didn't use enough salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I wish I liked this but it was very bland. My partner is finicky and had everything he liked so decided to make this for dinner. I made this again but this time used can of cream or celery soup, doubled the hamburger amount and added a 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. I layered it like instructed using half the hamburger as the base and the rest of the hamburger after the corn layer. Like suggested, I turned on the broiler to crisp the bacon. This helped it out a lot. A lot of work for a fair dish to serve. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Thank you for sharing your recipe Kitten. We enjoyed it and will make again - it is a keeper! I made just a few minor changes/additions. I browned a pound of ground chuck and about two sausage patties in my cast iron dutch oven. There was about 2 tablespoons of grease so I drained that off. Then I layered everything as instructed. In addition to the salt and pepper I sprinkled garlic salt and cayenne pepper between the layers. I cut the bacon into bite-sized pieces and laid it on the top. I put the lid on the dutch oven and baked for 40 minutes, removed the lid and baked 20 more and then broiled the top for about 5. What an economical and easy recipe - easy to prepare, bake and clean-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Made this last night,as I love easy to fix meals on the weekend. This is a keeper. I did double the recipe as I never no how many extra teenage boys will be here. There was silence as they ate, which means,they loved it. I will keep this in me monthly rotation. Thanks Miss Kitten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really great! Used can potatoes and bacon bits..no carrots. Put seasoning salt, pepper, chili powder, garlic powder and onion flakes in with meat to brown. Then added tomato soup, worcestershire, a-1, can fiesta nacho soup, bacon bits, corn, beans, potatoes and a little salt to taste, mixed all together and poured into dish. Put grated cheese on top before putting in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K Lightfoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palestine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this tonight and it does remind me a lot of shepherds pie. Because onions are an absolute no no in this house, (I love them, the hubby hates them), I have to substitute with onion powder. I added garlic powder, onion powder seasoning salt, black pepper and some parsley flakes to the dish. Also, I didn't layer it, I just mixed everything together in our big cast iron fry pan and stuck it in the oven for 40 minutes with the foil on it. I removed the foil and stuck it back in for an additional 40 minutes. It smelled so delicious cooking, a definite keeper. I just love this site for recipes!!!! Thank you, Kitten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pullman, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Even with my modifications this was bland, bland and bland. I added garlic powder and green pepper to the ground beef mixture. I figured this was just going to be dry so I added a can of reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup. This really makes a ton so we have quite a lot left over. I'm going to freeze it and make "garbage soup" from this site for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This needed more seasonings. My husband said it was very bland but when I heated the leftovers and added some Italian Seasoning and other herbs, he ate three helpings. Also an 8X8 would not hold everything. I cut everything but ground beef and onion in half and the 8X8 was full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Just served this to the family tonight...everyone loved it. They said it was a variation on Shepherd's Pie. I made mine with meatloaf mix instead of just beef...I will add ground lamb next time too. I will put the dish under the broiler for a couple of minutes to crisp the bacon more...the bacon was cooked but not crisp (still very good though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra-Matris

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States