Bacalao a la Vizcaina (Basque Style Codfish Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I must add that due to the overfishing of cod over the years, it is easier to find salted pollock (another white fish) sold as 'salted cod'. The term 'salted cod' has become a generic term for salted white fish. Pollock is less expensive, comes in convenient boned filets and works fine for this recipe. The flavor is less intense, but this might be a positive for those who didn't like salted cod because of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I feel like I just came back from my mom's kitchen in Puerto Rico! Let me tell you about this dish. It's heaven on Earth. I love the flavors and the different textures of this dish. If you don't like fish, you'd still like this. It is not "fishy". If you don't like raisins, you won't know they are there. They give a hint of sweetness to every bite. The capers and olives a hint of tanginess and a bit of saltiness, just enough to make it wonderful. You can serve this with a side of white rice or with some boiled roots (like yuca, malanga, yautia...etc) OR just do like I am doing right now...eat a bowl of it by itself before it dissapears. Thanks Milly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This dish was spectacular. I can`t believe salted cod can be so good. I didn`t have capers, so used more green olives and used rose wine instead. And I roasted peppers in my oven. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I first had this in Mexico on New Year's Eve and it was delightful. I changed it to match what I remembered by using fresh cod and omitting the eggs and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWRDPRINCESS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I had high expectations for this due to all the interesting flavor combinations involved, but it turned out sort of bland. Maybe rosemary would help, and definitely salt and pepper. I would probably do it in the oven next time, rather than the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My family has been making codfish for years now, normally I don't really eat it so they try not to make it while am around. in this case I decided to make it for them, Wow it was delicious. They were all very impressed and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcurious
Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe, Ms. Suazo knows her Puerto Rican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Excellent recipe. I made the tomato sauce ahead of time from scartch adding mushrooms, one red pepper in quarters for flavor, fresh basil from the garden and serrano pepprers to make it spicy. Everything esle was per the recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
OMG, this is absolutely delicious. Made according to recipe. Next time will add a little more Cod. I used Frozen Cod and had to add a little salt to dish since Cod was not salted. This was a BIG hit in my family tonight. Cooked Yucca for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I've had Bacalao a la Vizcanina many time before at a PR restaurant but it closed down and since then I have been looking for a good recipe but so far no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States