Bacalao a la Vizcaina (Basque Style Codfish Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! Bacalao is a staple at our big family dinners but I never cared for it much because I found it plain and salty. I decided to try this recipe and everyone loved it! I halved the amount of capers and olives because I assumed it would come out salty but it didn't. I soaked the fish overnight and changed the water 3 times and it came out fantastic. I will use the full amount of olives next time. I prepared it with boiled Yucca and maduros. I also added some of my homemade sofrito. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Excellent! Easy and tasty! Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
just like my grandmothers cooking!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Ferrer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This dish was AMAZING!!! I didn't have any garlic at hand so I used garlic salt. Right before I poured the water and wine over it I seasoned it with salt and pepper.I baked it in the oven at 350 for an hour covered with foil. I then served it with white rice but I'm thinking next time I will serve it with green bananas!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
My mother-in-law requested this dish. I made this recipe just as stated and everyone loved it!! Will be making this tasty stew often! Thanks Milly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I've had Bacalao a la Vizcanina many time before at a PR restaurant but it closed down and since then I have been looking for a good recipe but so far no luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
OMG, this is absolutely delicious. Made according to recipe. Next time will add a little more Cod. I used Frozen Cod and had to add a little salt to dish since Cod was not salted. This was a BIG hit in my family tonight. Cooked Yucca for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Excellent recipe. I made the tomato sauce ahead of time from scartch adding mushrooms, one red pepper in quarters for flavor, fresh basil from the garden and serrano pepprers to make it spicy. Everything esle was per the recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Excellent recipe, Ms. Suazo knows her Puerto Rican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States