Baby Zucchini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made this salad for a neighborhood cook-out. I used home grown zucchini and fresh basil right off the plant. I doubled the recipe so used a yellow bell pepper as well as the red for some added color. I held back a bit on the vinegar as I didn't want to overwhelm the fresh vegie flavors. Everyone who tried the salad loved it, and one person said it "had quite a kick". Next time I make it, I'm going to try cilantro instead of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made a LITTLE bit of this last night because I needed to find a side to go with ribs quickly. We were tired of the same old baked beans or mac and cheese. I was given two large Zucchini from a friend's garden. I looked up Zucchini and found this. I wish I had made more, which, I am going to do tonight because it is so easy and tastes so good. I didn't have nor have heard of baby zucchini so I used a large one. A Vidalia onion instead of red. A green instead of red pepper. I also didn't have fresh basil,I used the dried, regular olive oil too and followed the directions to the letter. So I didn't change the recipe just used different types of the same ingredients. LOL. Thanks for sharing Lizbeth. This is really refreshingly light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was very good, but made a good amount. Didn't taste as good the second day, so half if your only making for two or three as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I enjoyed this! It was a nice, light side dish to offer at a BBQ. It is also a great side dish to have available for the health conscious, gluten free or vegetarian. I used white wine vinegar and added lemon juice. Adding a baby yellow squash made it a bit more colorful and appealing. Thanks! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I just whipped this up because I had some baby zucchini that I was going to cook and saw this recipe. I like the raw option for veggies whenever possible. I used cilantro which was suggested in another review instead of basil and since I had a lime, I added lime zest as well. I used 3 T oil and 2T of Oliver's 25 year old barrel aged balsamic. Wow, so refreshing and the lime and cilantro knock it out of the park! I will definitely make this often. Thanks Lizabeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Pretty good but next time I would cut the amount of oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I loved this salad! I did make a modification though, instead of putting raw bell pepper I just roasted the pepper a bit and added it to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Flavor not to any of my guests taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
light and refreshing. I used tomatoes and thin stips of spinach. I never had raw yellow squash before and it was great with the little crunch. Next time I'll try the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Home Run! Delish, the wife and kids knocked this outta the park. In my regular rotation now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States