Baby Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wow....who knew nutmeg could be incorporated into an omelet? and it is freaking fantastic! I used egg whites only as I had 4 leftover from a bread baking session, and added mushrooms because to me, when you have onions and spinach, mushrooms just HAVE to be invited to the party :) I too used chopped onion and sauted the veggies and then poured the eggs (whisked with S&P, nutmeg and a tich of milk) overtop. Cooked on the stove until the bottom was set, then finished it under the broiler (no flipping required) - awesome breakfast and extremely low-carb using the egg whites. Thanks for the recipe! really is awesome with the nutmeg...:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Thought this was a good omelet, but called for way too much nutmeg. A pinch would do it imo. I also decreased the amount of spinach, added a little minced garlic and accent seasoning. Minced onion might be good in place of powder too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Great omelet, I actually added red pepper flakes to my mixture, because I really wanted to add some heat. It went great with whole wheat toast and orange juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was pretty good. I found it a little bland though, next time I will use garlic powder instead of onion powder. Three minutes per side was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Made this for dinner exactly as written, with sweet potato fries on the side. Yummy...yummy...yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Baby Spinach Omelet Haiku: "Blissful eggy dish. Almost perfect as written. I'll make this again!" Only small changes that I made were to lightly-saute a little diced onion (instead of onion powder) in the skillet and tossing in the spinach to barely wilt before mixing all the eggs and seasoning together. Also, 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, while seemingly scant, really would over-power a 2 egg omelet, so I opted for a pinch. I might use 1/8 tsp. if I were making a 6+ egg quiche, but not for a small single portion omelet. My omelet didn't make an attractive "flip and fold", as much as it just wiggled into a crepe-like snake, but oh wow, appearances aside, this was insanely good. I typically over-stuff my omelets w/ every veggie that I can unearth, but this simple combination of spinach/parm/onion (and that whisper of nutmeg) is beyond heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Loved this omelet! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Bartlett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made it this morning for my husband and teenage boy. They loved it! Great way to get your veggies in. I added tomatoes inside the omelet at the end. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Perfect dish for the South Beach Diet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Don't fear the nutmeg! It is a classic in steakhouse style creamed spinach and a natural here. Be like Alton Brown and buy it whole and grate it with a microplane just when you use it. Thank you HollyJune, I would not think of rewriting your recipe, it is perfect as is. If I want to do something else, I'll submit a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Omelet in a Bag

Quick and easy breakfast with virtually no clean up.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States