Baby Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I love spinach omelets but I never thought to add nutmeg can't wait to try it! I always add a bit of water to my omelets, it fluffs them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Made this recipe just as it has been presented and found it to be a little bland. I believe that omletes are made on a whim, at least mines are, using whatever ingredients are on hand but with all egg dishes, assuring myself, that I never omit the nutmeg, so I may offer a tip to budding chefs, unless you are absolutely sure that the ground nutmeg you are using is very fresh, then grind your own (invest in a nutmeg grinder). Nutmeg, starts to lose flavour within days of grinding, so for omlettes and certain other recipes I always use whole nuts and grate directly into the dish. For cakes and some sauces where ground nutmeg is called for, I grind it very fine in my nutmeg grinder. Note; there is a remarked difference between grated and ground. Same goes for Parmesan, grind it from the fresh block.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Glad I tried this as I was hesitant at first adding nutmeg. I was really happy I did because it was DELILCIOUS! I didn't have any spinach on hand so I used cucumber slices and it was also very tasty and had a bit of a crunch to it which I like! Thanks for sharing this recipe with All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Excellent omelette. I used 1/2c egg whites for each omelette and followed the directions otherwise. I did sprinkle a bit of cheddar cheese for a bit of gooey cheese in the center. Nice brunch with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Really delicious and it's a quick light breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Loved it!! No changes, except switched feta for parmesan cheese, and left out the salt. The pinch of nutmeg was an interesting addition!! Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was really just 3 stars for me but I gave it 4. It just had too much spinach in it for me but I wanted to be fair with my rating since if you are a spinach lover you would probably like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was yummy! I followed the recipe exactly and it had tons of flavor. Both my husband and I loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wow....who knew nutmeg could be incorporated into an omelet? and it is freaking fantastic! I used egg whites only as I had 4 leftover from a bread baking session, and added mushrooms because to me, when you have onions and spinach, mushrooms just HAVE to be invited to the party :) I too used chopped onion and sauted the veggies and then poured the eggs (whisked with S&P, nutmeg and a tich of milk) overtop. Cooked on the stove until the bottom was set, then finished it under the broiler (no flipping required) - awesome breakfast and extremely low-carb using the egg whites. Thanks for the recipe! really is awesome with the nutmeg...:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Thought this was a good omelet, but called for way too much nutmeg. A pinch would do it imo. I also decreased the amount of spinach, added a little minced garlic and accent seasoning. Minced onion might be good in place of powder too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Omelet in a Bag

Quick and easy breakfast with virtually no clean up.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States