Baby Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very good. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaGee
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Spinach omelets are one of my favorites and something I make for myself often, slightly varying what I put in them each time. On this occasion I sauteed chopped onion in butter, added the spinach and cooked just till wilted, added the eggs, cooked them until almost set, then topped with the Parmesan (just a sprinkle), some shredded Provolone and chopped tomatoes before folding the omelet over. Mushrooms also would be a great addition. I'm familiar with the combination of nutmeg and spinach which is used often in Italian cooking, but I don't care for it so chose not to use it. (Even so, the amount called for seems like nutmeg overkill - it's flavor should be VERY subtle) I omitted the onion powder as well. I would suggest not using the full amount of Parmesan, at least to start, as 1-1/2 T. seems like an awful lot for just two eggs. Similarly for the onion powder, which I wouldn't use at all, let alone 1/4 teaspoon. Good start to a great spinach omelet with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
So yummy! Even my 2 & 5 year olds liked it, which is quite a feat. I made this almost exactly according to the recipe, just added in some roma tomato. This is one of those great recipes that you can customize and play around with and make your own. The nutmeg added a really nice flavor, I really suggest at least trying it once before foregoing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShopCook
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
YuM! I love spinach! I didn't use the Parmesan cheese or the nutmeg because I forgot the recipe at work. I did remember everything else though. I added a little garlic powder in with the onion powder. Beforehand, in the omelet pan I sauteed a few slices of baby Portobello mushrooms in a bit of margarine. I removed them from the pan, sprayed on a little cooking spray and began cooking the egg spinach mixture. Before folding the omelet, I added the mushrooms and a little cheddar jack cheese to the center and then folded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Wow! I'm glad to find this. I would't have ever thought to season with nutmeg, but sure glad I followed this exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heiditx1979

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Wow!! This was the best omelet I have ever tasted! This was incredible! The nutmeg makes the dish; DO NOT LEAVE IT OUT! also, I cut the fat by using two egg whites instead of one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very good! I made it as an egg white omelet and didn't add salt, and it was still wonderful! I can't wait to make it for my husband! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
finish cooking top in broiler, add some cheese, use variety of veggies. Love mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Really good - I made as directed except I used only 1 T of Parmesan. I didn't like the nutmeg, though. Next time I'll take that out and do the full amount of cheese. Also - I did the math and I think the nutrition information is too low. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was a hit in our house! I threw in some leftover chopped-up chicken to add an extra protein boost, and it worked very well with the spinach and Parmesan flavors. This omelet could take many variations and add-ins and still be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Omelet in a Bag

Quick and easy breakfast with virtually no clean up.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States