Baby Spinach Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was a simple and tasty breakfast for one! I used four egg whites instead of two eggs and used a cup and a half of fresh baby spinach because I'm a big green fan ;} Couldn't find the nutmeg (tragic because I was excited to taste the different flavor it would have given an omelet) so instead I used an Italian season grinder. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Strapple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yummy. A great way to use up a little spinach. I added a chopped tomato, too. Loved the nutmeg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
green onions in stead of onion salt, Grape tomatoes and feta cheese on top. Some red skin potatoes and a half teaspoon of garlic cooked with the onions for ten minutes is an option
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very good. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaGee
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Spinach omelets are one of my favorites and something I make for myself often, slightly varying what I put in them each time. On this occasion I sauteed chopped onion in butter, added the spinach and cooked just till wilted, added the eggs, cooked them until almost set, then topped with the Parmesan (just a sprinkle), some shredded Provolone and chopped tomatoes before folding the omelet over. Mushrooms also would be a great addition. I'm familiar with the combination of nutmeg and spinach which is used often in Italian cooking, but I don't care for it so chose not to use it. (Even so, the amount called for seems like nutmeg overkill - it's flavor should be VERY subtle) I omitted the onion powder as well. I would suggest not using the full amount of Parmesan, at least to start, as 1-1/2 T. seems like an awful lot for just two eggs. Similarly for the onion powder, which I wouldn't use at all, let alone 1/4 teaspoon. Good start to a great spinach omelet with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
So yummy! Even my 2 & 5 year olds liked it, which is quite a feat. I made this almost exactly according to the recipe, just added in some roma tomato. This is one of those great recipes that you can customize and play around with and make your own. The nutmeg added a really nice flavor, I really suggest at least trying it once before foregoing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShopCook
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
YuM! I love spinach! I didn't use the Parmesan cheese or the nutmeg because I forgot the recipe at work. I did remember everything else though. I added a little garlic powder in with the onion powder. Beforehand, in the omelet pan I sauteed a few slices of baby Portobello mushrooms in a bit of margarine. I removed them from the pan, sprayed on a little cooking spray and began cooking the egg spinach mixture. Before folding the omelet, I added the mushrooms and a little cheddar jack cheese to the center and then folded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Wow! I'm glad to find this. I would't have ever thought to season with nutmeg, but sure glad I followed this exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heiditx1979

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Wow!! This was the best omelet I have ever tasted! This was incredible! The nutmeg makes the dish; DO NOT LEAVE IT OUT! also, I cut the fat by using two egg whites instead of one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very good! I made it as an egg white omelet and didn't add salt, and it was still wonderful! I can't wait to make it for my husband! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States