Baby Greens with a Warm Gorgonzola Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I took a chance and made this recipe for the first time when I was serving guests. They LOVED it and wanted the recipe. I did double the bacon, garlic and almonds. Plus I added crumbled gorgonzola to the salad when I tossed it. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christenk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! We had some leftover steak, so we sliced it thin and pan fried it to warm it up. We left out the bacon but kept the almonds and added craisins. Served it over mixed greens and baby spinach. Everyone loved it. Second helpings for several of us! Next time we may add grilled asparagus. Thanks! It was a perfect meal for a hot day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Loved this! I hardly touched the chicken that I made to go with this. I just wish I had made more. Unfortunately, our grocery store didn't have gorgonzola so I had to go with the blue cheese someone else suggested. I can't wait to try it with the right cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Delicious! My only complaint is that there is too much olive oil. My dressing separated due to too much oil, so I think 1/2 cup would be plenty. I also only used 1/2 tsp. salt and real bacon bits instead of going to the trouble of frying up some bacon. This dressing and the bacon go perfectly together and I loved it warm! Excellent salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I hate cooking, but this recipe is so easy and delicious. The only alteration I made(for convience) is I cook the bacon in a frying pan then I set the whole pan aside and let it cool down. Then I put the blended mixture into the pan and warm it up on a low temperature. (Do not pour mixture in the pan if it is HOT.) But then I just pour contents of pan on to salad. Granted the fat is a little higher this way, but it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I have made this salad dressing twice now and I thought it was unbelievable. My mom wanted the recipe, so when she made this salad one night I had no idea it was the same one. I realized that I had never put the olive oil in my salad dressing and believe me, SO MUCH BETTER! It is like a pinkish colour and so flavourful and not oily at all. Delicious with the olive oil but even more delicious...without the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I MADE THIS FOR A COMPANY SUPPER,CLAM CHOWDER AND POPOVER I Added the pears used splenda instead of sugar.it was quite a hit thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is basically what was called years ago wilted lettuce salad. This recipe calls for way too much dressing. It puddles, and is far too sweet. Cut down on the vinegar and the sugar and salt, then it will work better. Salad dressings should just be a hint on the salad. There should just be enough to kiss the lettuce leaves or other ingredients. I would make this again, but reall cut back on the vinegar and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I subbed blue cheese in the dressing, b/c it was what I had on hand. I thought the dressing was really good. I ALWAYS use less evoo than called for b/c I like my dressings tangier and healthier. I wuold add some veggies or something though to make it more interesting. Or pears - that would taste really good against the strong cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This salad is absolutely delicious! I omitted the bacon, halved the sugar, added some thin slices of pears and added pecans instead of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States