Baby Food Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
After 45 minutes at 375 degrees, this cake started to burn. It was already overcooked. The pan was greased but the cake stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
tried your cake for my sons 1st birthday .the cake tasted good but it was top was burned a little and i took it out ealier then what the recipe calles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was moist. Instead of using baby food I used canned peaches. I drained most of the liquid and put peaches in a food processor to make puree. The flavor is much more intense. For frosting beat 8oz. cream cheese, with 1 c. powder sugar and another 1c. puree peaches. Fold in 8 oz. whip topping. I split my 2 9" layers and frosted in between layers, than stacked and frosted top and sides of cake. The fosting is light and not overly sweet. It made for a really high cake. I drizzled with caramel and chopped pecans. Next time I would use almonds as peaches and almonds blend well! You can use other canned fruit like apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
This is easy to make, but I found it bland. I made a layer cake with a white chocolate icing and it was good. It definitely needs an icing or maybe cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was amazingly easy! I used dutch apple and pear baby food (because that was in my pantry) and it was great. I did have to shorten the bake time though because of a dark pan. And I cut the oil down to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
My friend requested a raspberry birthday cake, so I made this recipe and substitued a can of Solo red raspberry filling for the baby food. I also reduced the oil to 1/2 cup. The results were pretty good--a nice moist cake with subtle fruit taste. Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
I used Plum and Pear Baby Food and cut the oil back to 3/4" cup. My co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Everywhere I take this cake it is always a winner. Nobody can believe that it has baby food in it. I also tried bannanas and apricot baby food. It turned out really tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I made this with Baby Food plums and prunes. I added a little maple flavoring to the cake. I also topped it, when cool, with a simple frosting with a little maple flavoring in that also. Absolutely delicious and extremely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
I have made this cake many times. Here's a lower fat/lower calorie version that works just as well. Instead of 1 cup of oil - 1/3 cup oil Instead of 1/2 cup sugar - 1/3 cup sugar Substituted baby food for applesauce as well. Instead of nuts - added raisins. It is still a very very delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States