Baby Doe's Cheese Soup with Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Yum! This is great! We loved it! I used a Busch's light beer, and I added a container of Kraft Old English sharp cheddar spread. Lovely flavor and wonderful consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I've never eaten at Baby Doe's so I can't compare to the original, but it was a really good cheese soup. I reduced the worchestershire sauce and hot sauce because I'm a little bit of a wimp. I used concentrated chicken stock instead of bullion, so I added a touch more salt. And I added a package of sharp cheddar cheese because the cheese flavor wasn't too strong. It added a nice texture, thickened the soup up a bit and it was just the flavor I was missing. Overall I'd make it again - next time I'll have bacon on hand though. The garlic croutons I added helped it out too - I might use garlic salt instead of plain salt next time I think that would be a nice flavor add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I have seaarched for the recipe from the Birmingham restaurant and this is it!! I love the soup we went to the restaurant just to get the soup. Add or redice the tobasco to adjust the "zip".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I made it as recipe said and it's too thin and just not that good. I've had better lots better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I used to work at Baby Doe's and have searched for years to find a soup like theirs. This is wonderful and brings back some great memories. I like it best with a lighter beer. My husband bought a dark ale one time and it was a bit overpowering, but still a great soup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Blann McGuire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Not bad. The beer cheese soup I've had in the past was very thick and I thought it was very thin so I added more corn starch and doubled the cheese. I also added bacon and I used Guinness. The beer is pretty strong so make sure you use a flavorful beer. After I doctored it up it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This soup looked and smelled really good but when it came to tasting there was way too much of a beer flavor for me. If I make it again I will cut the amount of beer at least by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Good!Will probably use different cheese next time, not a fan of the whiz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARONAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I've had the original and this is pretty good. I used Newcastle beer which gave it great flavor. The tablespoon of Hot sauce gave it alot of kick, so next time I'll maybe use half. Added the extra cornstarch and still wasn't as thick as I would have liked. I paired it with some Sourdough Rye bread and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States