Baby Carrots And Brussels Sprouts Glazed With Brown Sugar and Pepper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I just made this recipe and fear it will not make it till dinner time (I keep "testing" the sprouts!). I did a couple of minor enhancements to adjust the flavor to my taste - used only a teaspoon pepper but added a "scoop" of dejon mustard and a couple splashes of balsamic vinegar when making the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. My boyfriend is so picky and he even gobbled it up. This was made for both Thanksgiving and Christmas this year. The only change I made was that the pepper was too strong so I lessened the amount. Everything else was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This wasn't anything special. I too halved the recipe. i kept adding more brown suagar to get a better glaze but it never did glaze. This recipe didn't go over very well for Christmas Dinner. Not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I followed the recipe to a "T" and I'm not sure if it's just my taste but I didn't like it. And it didn't really glaze. Not sure if it was something I did or not but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Remember to ALWAYS TRY FIRST a new recipe before presenting it to anyone who will not appreciate your effort to try new things...My sister did not care for this at all, and she loves sprouts! I, on the other hand, only like them and I think this is a keeper!! To each his own ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I cut this recipe in half because I didn't need so many vegetables, but I forgot to halve the brown sugar. It turned out great anyway. It did take much longer to acheive the glaze consistency - about 30 minutes of simmering uncovered. Judging by some of the other reviews, this might have been needed regardless of whether I had used 1/6 cup of brown sugar or not. I did cut the Brussels sprouts in half, but that likely wasn't necessary given the cooking time. I also heeded the other reviewers' ideas, and ran the vegetables through the microwave to soften them a little. I used care not to dump any extra water in when I transferred them to the cooking pot. Like the other reviewers, I found that signficantly less pepper was needed - for one pound of Brussels sprouts and one pound of baby carrots, I used only 1/2 teaspoon of finely ground black pepper, and it had just the right bite for us. I think maybe the recipe needs a little more brown sugar than is called for if you are using the full four pounds of vegetables. I plan to make this as a full recipe at Thanksgiving for a side dish, and I will definitely add 2/3 cup of brown sugar, not just 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I reduced the pepper to 1 tsp and it was still too much.Overall it lacked flavour I found the sprouts to be undercooked. No one ate it at our Canadian Thanksgiving dinner. I was quite embarassed that I brought it. I think it worked for some because they did so much tweaking to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I loved this dish! I did what another reviewer did and cooked the veggies in the microwave first, then transferred the carrots and sprouts to an oven proof bowl, poured the glaze over top, put the lid on and heated it in the oven while I prepared the rest of the meal. I'm not a huge fan of brussel sprouts but these are delicious.Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This recipe is incredible. I don't have to ask what kind of green vegetable my husband would like with dinner anymore, the answer is always brussels sprouts. We will add the carrots when we serve it for Thanksgiving. This is a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
always looking for something different to do w/vegetables. i added mushrooms and completetely ommitted the black pepper (as others said) and it gave it a nutty flavor. this was EASY and delicious! thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States