Baby Carrots And Brussels Sprouts Glazed With Brown Sugar and Pepper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this as my potluck contribution for Christmas Dinner and it was a hit! Super good and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiepoo1971

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I have tried this recipe twice. The first time, I think I boiled the brussel sprouts for too long. The second time, I didn't do it long enough. The first time tasted better, but they were both super yummy each time. Tastes like candy vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
First of all it takes longer than 6-7 min to reduce the glaze. It won't be thick so if u like it that way u will either need to add more brown sugar or some cornstarch. This dish has a beautiful presentation with intense colors and looks great on the plate. It has a mix of favors; carrots pick up the light sweetness while the Brussels sprouts have the peppery, hearty flavor. It's an interesting mix. I made this for Xmas dinner side dish and we only had three ppl. I would recommend only making 1/4 of this recipe. It was way too much and can easily serve more than 8! Mine turned out tender with a lot of flavor, although I have tried other sprouts recipes on this site that I like better. If u like mixing flavors and want to try something different this might be the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving two years ago. It was the first time I ever attempted it and it was awesome! I Would have done it again this year too but the glaze takes such a long time to make I didn't have the time. I will make sure I have the time to make it for Christmas this year -- the one "drawback" was the time it took to make the glaze. That was my first time ever making one though so I'll probably get quicker with it each time. It really is a fantastic dish. Possibly the best vegetable dish I've ever had. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I've made this recipe several times, with and without the Brussels Sprouts. I just add extra carrots if I don't have the Sprouts. It's my favorite way to eat these veggies. These are DELICIOUS & my family loves them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very good recipe to try to spruce up, a not so fond vegetable of mine, brussel sprouts! Even tho my husband didnt care for them, I did like this recipe on them and it made them more edible for me. I just had to add extra sauce over the ones that I ate! lol Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Like others I also found the sauce to be a little too soupy and needed to add a bit more brown sugar. I let the sauce simmer which helped thicken it up. Otherwise, this was absolutely delicious and even my S.O. who's anti brussel sprout absolutely loved this side dish. Thank you Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe almost exactly. My only addition was a bit of orange zest after reading the reviews. (Added great flavor!) I only gave it 3 stars, as the sauce just did not turn into a glaze...very thin and soupy. Also, the pepper was extreme...and I cut it down! Even my husband, who loves pepper, thought it was a bit much. I wonder, is it 1 tsp. as opposed to 1 Tbsp?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Loved this recipe! Easy and very delicious. Even the veggie haters in the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
the family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States