Baby Carrots And Brussels Sprouts Glazed With Brown Sugar and Pepper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Yummy Yummy Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
A nice change of pace for a side dish. I couldn't get the liquid to reduce enough, though, so it was still watery. I did add a tablespoon of cornstarch, as someone else suggested. Also, I steamed the veggies while the glaze reduced, then added it all together to the pan for a few minutes to coat the veggies with the glaze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Really liked this combination. Didn't have any trouble getting the glaze to reduce. Cooked veggies crisp tender and blanched ahead of time. Reduced the pepper by 1/2 and it was enough. Glazed the reheated veggies all together and put in oven uncovered at 350 degreese for 45 minutes while I prepared the rest of my dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Skippack, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I made this for my family's thanksgiving dinner last year and they ALL loved it and wanted the recipe, even my uncle who is the world's pickiest eater! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner because I love Burssels Sprouts and because I wanted a colourful dish to make the dinner look nice. I took the advise of several others and cooked the veggies a bit more than recommended. I also added some cornstarch (mixed with a little water) to the sauce to thicken it a bit. I would add more next time, as the sauce is still fairly "watery". Overall it was very colourful, extremely tasty and even the kids came back for seconds. It was even better as leftovers - I froze the leftovers and then we ate them a couple of weeks later after we were done being tired of turkey leftovers :) Overall a terrific recipe that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
excellent. It really added variety to the same old boring veggies i eat everyday. I boiled the brussel sprouts and baby carrots, until they were at a texture I would enjoy eating them at. Also, I used hardly any pepper, just a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzie
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Awesome, just too much pepper, and I like spicy stuff! Use pepper to taste, not just a measurement, really--it killed the recipe the first time I made it. I also steam the brussel sprouts and carrots instead of blanching them, worked perfectly! Otherwise, the sauce is perfect and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I didn't find anything special about this dish. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
We severed this dish on Christmas Eve. I listened to an earlier reviewer and cooked the veggies closer to doneness I wanted them to be in the end and it turned out wonderful. (Also cooked them a day ahead) The sauce really compliments the brussel sprouts. I didn't think it did much for the carrots, but the addition of carrots did look pretty. I'll make this again, omitting the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was awesome! I'll make it every year as a tradition now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States