Baby Bok Choy with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I've been cooking baby bok choy this way for a long time . . . and, I agree -- serving with fish and rice makes a lovely meal. It's so easy and sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIMASU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Yummy. I had never had baby bok choy before and I thought I'd give it a try with this recipe. Very tasty, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is so quick and easy! Very tasty! I've made it with Shanghai cabbage which is delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I absolutely loved the outcome of this, but in my mind 1/4 cup of minced garlic and 2 cans of chicken broth was SO unnecessary and excessive. As the recipe suggests, I used minced garlic to taste, probably a third of what was called for, and only enough chicken broth necessary to allow the bok choy to steam. I poured enough broth into my large skillet to a depth of about 1/2 inch. Otherwise a great, basic reference recipe for cooking whole baby bok choy, one I know I'll come back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
First time with cooking/eating bok choy. Not really a fan, but the recipe is good, I think I just don't care for bok choy. Love the amount of garlic! Can never have too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I love baby bok choy! But 2 cans of chicken broth is "too much" for 6 heads of baby bok choy so I used an eyeball amount, probably 3/4 cup filled up to the sides of the bok choy. Also I did not add the entire 1/4 cup of minced garlic, only enough to suit my tastes. I lightly seasoned with hawaiian salt, fresh ground black pepper and fresh squeezed lemon right before serving. Delicious! The fresh lemon really adds a lovely zip to the baby bok choy without taking away from the broth, garlic and butter. I 'd prepare this side dish again, the same exact way, with other types of main or asian themed dishes. Tonight I served this along with,"Adobo Chicken with Ginger," and "Roasted Corn with Garlic Rice," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Yummy! gave it three stars since I modified it. Instead of butter I used two tablespoons of olive oil, six cloves garlic chopper, 1/4 cup chicken broth and added a handfull of chopped arugula - it was awesome! I needed to clean out the veggie drawer and this was a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
10-8-11: This was watery and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was my first taste of bok choy, but I had to modify the recipe. I used just enough liquid to steam the greens in a fry pan and skipped the butter. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matchstick atom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
this was very simple and good- i did cut my bok choy up before placing in skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States