Baby Bok Choy with Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I absolutely loved the outcome of this, but in my mind 1/4 cup of minced garlic and 2 cans of chicken broth was SO unnecessary and excessive. As the recipe suggests, I used minced garlic to taste, probably a third of what was called for, and only enough chicken broth necessary to allow the bok choy to steam. I poured enough broth into my large skillet to a depth of about 1/2 inch. Otherwise a great, basic reference recipe for cooking whole baby bok choy, one I know I'll come back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I love baby bok choy! But 2 cans of chicken broth is "too much" for 6 heads of baby bok choy so I used an eyeball amount, probably 3/4 cup filled up to the sides of the bok choy. Also I did not add the entire 1/4 cup of minced garlic, only enough to suit my tastes. I lightly seasoned with hawaiian salt, fresh ground black pepper and fresh squeezed lemon right before serving. Delicious! The fresh lemon really adds a lovely zip to the baby bok choy without taking away from the broth, garlic and butter. I 'd prepare this side dish again, the same exact way, with other types of main or asian themed dishes. Tonight I served this along with,"Adobo Chicken with Ginger," and "Roasted Corn with Garlic Rice," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I've been cooking baby bok choy this way for a long time . . . and, I agree -- serving with fish and rice makes a lovely meal. It's so easy and sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIMASU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Yummy! gave it three stars since I modified it. Instead of butter I used two tablespoons of olive oil, six cloves garlic chopper, 1/4 cup chicken broth and added a handfull of chopped arugula - it was awesome! I needed to clean out the veggie drawer and this was a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
this was very simple and good- i did cut my bok choy up before placing in skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Yummy. I had never had baby bok choy before and I thought I'd give it a try with this recipe. Very tasty, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was my first taste of bok choy, but I had to modify the recipe. I used just enough liquid to steam the greens in a fry pan and skipped the butter. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matchstick atom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I'd never cooked with bok choy before so had no clue. This looked tasty and sounded easy, and we were not disappointed! Very easy and very tasty - two important qualities I look for in a recipe! Although, I lessened the garlic a bit and added some ginger and grated carrots! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was very good! I think the serving size was off as I had way more than 3 servings, but it was still very tasty and now I have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This was my first time making bok choy and we liked this a lot. I followed the recipe as written and found the amount of garlic to be appropriate for our tastes. Also I did not find that there was too much chicken broth for the amount of bok choy, I felt it was just right to get it cooked through and slightly wilted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States