Babaci's Potato Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
i grew up on Pierogies. I love them. I wanted to add that we make a sauce to use. Saute chopped onion in butter untill clear, but NOT browned. Add, Heavy cream, 1/2 & 1/2 or light cream(what ever you like, we use FF to save on the fat). When warm, add sour cream to the sauce. Don't boil, just heat throughly. Measurements, Hmmm 2 pints of cream, 16 oz of sour cream, 2 sticks of butter/margarine and 4 onions(lots). Just add to make it the consistancy you want. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
We (meaning myself and the two fellas that helped me eat them) have never made or ate anything like these before. I was just skiming through the recipes, thought these sounded good, read the reviews, and decided to make them. I used 6 or 7 russet potatoes and still have plents of filling left. I ended up with 29 of these. After reading a review I decided to add some crumbled bacon and shredded cheddar cheese to the filling. I am SO glad I did becuase the only thing about them that had any flavor was the bacon. They need to be dipped in something (sweet & sour sauce or honey mustard maybe). Perhaps mixing some herbs into the crust would make them better. Just some things to experiment with. We figured the time spent making thise would have been worth it if they would have had more flavor and not been so bland. I wound up dipping mine in ketchup for a little flavor; ketchup is not advised. :) I started around 6 pm, and we didn't eat until 8:30 pm or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswan10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
just took alook at your recipe, and at least it has sour cream in the dough most of these recipes don't and I like that your recipe name is grandma's (in polish) we made them alot when my Babaci was alive and now I make them, we have a secret ingredient, and no one ever figures it out, someday I will have to share it! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyren
Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Loved these. I never thought I could make these taste like the pierogies that I used to eat in Pennsylvania, but they were great! There is too much filling, so cut that amount to 25%. Also, I diced two onions, some butter and added them to the oil for frying. The end result was buttery, oniony goodness, just like what I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this except I made a lot LESS filling. Once boiled, I fried these in oil until golden brown then sprinkled with a bit of salt. They were great as appetizers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bitty071203

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I agree with MDASIL. I am thired generation urkanian, this recipe needs the farmers cheese, if you are unwilling to spend the money, lowfat ricotta cheese. Also yukon potatoes hold too much water you need a starch white potatoe the recipe then will not make a massive amount of filling to your dough portion. Cream cheese is not necessary. Sour cream; Daisy's is preferred. White or yellow cooking onions carmelized make the difference. To taste their is no specific. Refrain from pan frying with oil a small amount of margain with simply infuse all flavors. For sealing use a small dap of water on your finger. Rim it and pinch accordingly. The prep time is absolutely unreal, you must not to a beginner to recieve such a time. I have 500 done in a days time. Half are in prep for the holiday season, half are prepped for storing. If storing do not cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tony Rumbo
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Was in the Navy for 20+ years, stationed from one end of this nation to the other and sampled foods from all over the world, but this is the first time I've every tried Pierogis. They are awesome, the work to make them is well worth it and it is more fun if you have help. Well worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Rumbo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I am slovak, and we use this filling: Mashed potatoes mixed with (bryndza cheese) which is similar to Goat cheese and also we add fresh small cut dill herb into it. It is great filling and smells great too. Try it. I will post my recipe later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I gave it 4 stars bc if the dough would have been left at 1/4" thickness they probably would have been really tough. I rolled the dough almost paper-thin and carefully stuffed with left over mashed potatoes and shredded cheese. Served with turkey smoked sausage, peppers and onions. It was SOOO awesome. The pierogi was so tender and delicious. Very nice dough recipe, but I STRONGLY suggest rolling the dough out much thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States