Babaci's Potato Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I only gave the recipe four stars because instead of the cottage cheese, you need to use farmers cheese. Most markets have this. I also added sauteed onions to my mashed potatoe mixture. Other than that, this was just like my grandmother used to make. It wasn't as hard as I expected. Thank you so much for this recipe. Next time I will add some sauerkraut to the mixture. My grandmother also did these with plums and just boiled them. When they were done she would top them with sour cream and sugar. I know it sounds weird but they were wonderful! Now I have the dough recipe and can make many variations. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These are worth all the hard work and effort. Be sure to roll the dough very thin. The more delicate they are, the more delicious they are. I also filled mine with potato & sharp cheddar and sour kraut & onion. Remember, it goes alot quicker if you have a helper. One person to roll and cut dough and one person to stuff and pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
The dough is very easy to prepare and prepares enough for 24 Pierogi. The recipe for the filling, if followed completely, would make enough filling for 9 zillion Pierogi. I followed the directions, and adding only ONE container of cottage cheese, had enough filling for the 24 and enough thrown out which could have made 5000. Has the recipe been wrongly written?? I think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
In Poland, white cheese used in this recipe only tastes like cottage cheese, but looks like feta cheese (dry). This is the reason why some of you did not like the cottage cheese in this recipe. And to the filling, we also adding extra chopped and fried on a skillet onion. It tastes much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
They ar alot of work But well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I think I finally have figured out the mystery of the filling. It all comes down to bad instructions. The first 10 I followed the instructions, and well..they weren't good. When rolling the dough, roll it to a 1/4 inch. The cut out with the smallest cutter you have, I used the smallest biscuit cutter, about an inch. Most people wouldn't have a glass small enough. A childs juice glass might work. When you have all those cut out, there's about 70. THEN, roll them again to almost a paper width. I used almost all the filling, and they didn't taste like breading. That being said..and being Polish...they did NOT taste like my grandpas... I don't think they're worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This recipe is Awesome! I added 1/2 cup diced onion, and 1/4 cup simulated bacon bits and 1/2 tsp pepper...mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
recipe is kind of difficult to puit together but makes the best dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This definately makes WAY too much filling, so keep the amount of dough the same, but reduce the filing by half. Also, make sure you roll out the dough very thin - this way, you can stuff more into each one and they taste much better with thin dough. You should make these with a helper, as they take a while to make, but they are worth it. We added cheddar cheese and just a touch of minced onion, and used an electric mixer to mash the potatoes rather than using a potato masher. Overall quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I agree with MDASIL. I am thired generation urkanian, this recipe needs the farmers cheese, if you are unwilling to spend the money, lowfat ricotta cheese. Also yukon potatoes hold too much water you need a starch white potatoe the recipe then will not make a massive amount of filling to your dough portion. Cream cheese is not necessary. Sour cream; Daisy's is preferred. White or yellow cooking onions carmelized make the difference. To taste their is no specific. Refrain from pan frying with oil a small amount of margain with simply infuse all flavors. For sealing use a small dap of water on your finger. Rim it and pinch accordingly. The prep time is absolutely unreal, you must not to a beginner to recieve such a time. I have 500 done in a days time. Half are in prep for the holiday season, half are prepped for storing. If storing do not cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States