Babaci's Potato Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
The proportions are way off on this recipe. I ended up with a bowl full of filling, even after I cut the ingredients in half. My polish husband did not like the cottage cheese in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This definately makes WAY too much filling, so keep the amount of dough the same, but reduce the filing by half. Also, make sure you roll out the dough very thin - this way, you can stuff more into each one and they taste much better with thin dough. You should make these with a helper, as they take a while to make, but they are worth it. We added cheddar cheese and just a touch of minced onion, and used an electric mixer to mash the potatoes rather than using a potato masher. Overall quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Fan Spanking Tastic! I'll never buy pierogis again. I cut the recipie down by two thirds and it made enough pierogis for 3 people (about 12). I had a whole bunch of filling left over. Since it does take a bit of time to pull them together, I think the next time I make them, I'll cut the filling recipe by two thirds, but use the full dough recipe. Then I'll boil all the pierogis and freeze what ever I don't plan to use for dinner that night. That will consolidate the work time and provide me with a quick dinner in the future. I think I'll also try adding some shredded cheese to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I tried this recipe yesterday and I was glad that my husband and my dad liked it. It's a good snack and suitable for tea time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This recipe is Awesome! I added 1/2 cup diced onion, and 1/4 cup simulated bacon bits and 1/2 tsp pepper...mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
These are worth all the hard work and effort. Be sure to roll the dough very thin. The more delicate they are, the more delicious they are. I also filled mine with potato & sharp cheddar and sour kraut & onion. Remember, it goes alot quicker if you have a helper. One person to roll and cut dough and one person to stuff and pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
The dough is very easy to prepare and prepares enough for 24 Pierogi. The recipe for the filling, if followed completely, would make enough filling for 9 zillion Pierogi. I followed the directions, and adding only ONE container of cottage cheese, had enough filling for the 24 and enough thrown out which could have made 5000. Has the recipe been wrongly written?? I think so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
recipe is kind of difficult to puit together but makes the best dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
They ar alot of work But well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States