Baba Ghanoush with Yogurt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I loved this. Although I made a lot of changes, I would guess it would taste great as written. First, I didn't have yogurt on hand (very unusual for me) so I used sour cream. I made tahini from scratch, and it was kind of bitter, so I used less than the 1/4 c. although my husband thought it could have used more. Also, when I was reading about bitter tahini, a lot of people said the olive oil can make it bitter, and that it really doesn't need it, so I didn't want to add olive oil to the baba ghanoush in case it would make that bitter. I didn't have teriyaki sauce so I used a few dashes of coconut aminos garlic sauce. It was really delicious, and I'm sure next time I will use the yogurt, and a little more tahini if I can make some less bitter, and it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I didn't like this much. All I can taste is the eggplant and I even added more salt and teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHOTRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I omitted the teriyaki sauce. We made it without the yogurt at first but after tasting it, decided to add the yogurt. Quite delish! I used 4 cloves of mashed garlic because we like garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was really very nice and was a big hit with my friends...I have to make it for the Senior Center every party lol They put this on list and then tell I am making it...Some of them are from different countries where they used to eat this all the time...It got their thumbs up and they are very picky lol The person who said it needs yogurt and Teriaki Sauce must not be able to read so good because IT IS THERE lol Thanks again for recipe definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Very good. I did only one eggplant and skipped the teriyaki. I will definitely use this as a base recipe again. Oh I also put the eggplant in the blender to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Will not make a again. It was bland but made a TON. What a waste of eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I added a little more salt than was called for - this is a great party dip for either bread or veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
While many Baba Ghanoush recipes do not call for yogurt, it is not that uncommon either. I enjoyed this dip. However, being a garlic lover, I did add a bit more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This recipe was a nice surprise given I don't really like eggplant or yogurt. It's creamy, yummy! I pureed the eggplant for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
We didn't like this Baba Ghanoush. There shouldn't be yogurt in the dip...not to mention the teraki sauce. There is another baba ghanoush on this website that lists tahini paste and sesame seeds. We are going to give that a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States