Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I love this recipe. It was easy to make and even my 10 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lav
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
First, I followed the recipe, but after trying the end product, I decided to add more lemon juice. It definitely made a difference and added the necessary tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I roasted the eggplant on the stove top like some of the other reviewers recommended and used lime juice instead of lemon and added it to taste instead of putting in the whole 1/4 cup. I like it with a bit more texture, so I minced the eggplant with a chef's knife to keep it chunkier than a food processor then hand mixed everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Really enjoyed this. I LOVE lemon but found it a little overpowering in this recipe, so next time I'll cut back a bit. But overall, really good and super easy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I am really surprised that so few people, even Chefs, don't know how to pick non-bitter eggplant. Here's a little know fact. When selecting an eggplant be sure it is firm and check the bottom end (not the stem end). If it is indented then it is a female eggplant and is NOT bitter. I was told this many years ago by an organic farmer. To this day, at least a hundred eggplants later I have NEVER had a bitter eggplant.I never salt and press them anymore. My sweet Italian grandmothers would die if they knew how much time they wasted preparing eggplant in the past. I even told the Chef from the Ritz about it during a cooking class and he thanked me the next time I saw him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
My eggplant turned to mush according to the above directions. The cooking time is too long, also there is no specifics as to how long to soak the eggplant once it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is so simple and delicious! It's perfect with a toasty pita, veggies, and a tall drink. The recipe calls for olive oil, but actually I've tried it with and without, and it does not effect the flavor or consistency to leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Perfect! The only thing I changed is I made my own tahini rather than paying the price to buy it. (toast 2c sesame seeds on a baking sheet at 400 degrees for 4-5 minutes. DO NOT brown. When time is up, remove from oven and put them into a food processor or VitaMix with 1/4c canola or other MILD vegetable oil. If you want the paste, stop here. Store in fridge up to 3 months or freeze up to 6 months. If you want the tahini sauce, measure out 1/2 c paste, add 1 clove garlic and salt to taste. Blend till smooth. If it is too thick you can add water, a tablespoon at a time until it is the right consistency. If you are making this recipe, do not add lemon but for most recipes I add additional lemon juice to the tahini. After it is smooth you can store it in the refrigerator for up to 5 days or serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was good, but I wish I had seeded the eggplant first. I found it to be a little bitter and not creamy enough (next time I'll leave it in the food processor a little longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States