Baba Ghanoush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Fantastic Recipe! I used 1 ½ tbsp lemon juice. 2 tbsp of sesame oil were substituted for the tahini and sesame seeds. After poking several holes, I applied a salt rub to the skin for 30 mins. The eggplant, sweated of all trace of bitterness, was rinsed to remove the salt and sweat, then baked. Everyone at the table loved this baba ghanoush, young and old! I served this delicacy on "substitute" flat bread: Sprinkle a few slices of white bread with a dash paprika and seasoned salt. Use a rolling pin to flatten the bread slices. Add one tablespoon of olive oil to a heated skillet. Toast the flattened bread on both sides. OPTIONAL: Slice each slice of toast diagonally twice to yield four fine-looking triangles for your presentation. Place a dollop of baba ghanoush on each & Bon Apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I usually don't like baba ghanoush, but thought I would give this recipe a try. I'm glad I did. it was delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I didn't like it that much, i think it had way too much tahini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Amazing!!! Who knew so few ingredients could create such a flavorful treat? I followed the recipe to the T except for adding more garlic, because I always add more garlic, just as a personal preference. Delish!! Highly recommended :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Amazing. But I would agree with other users that for that much lemon juice, you would really have to up the amount of eggplants to atleast four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Easy basic recipe. A good place to start. I know there is much discussion of eggplant roasting/skinning techniques. Alton Brown has a method where you just squeeze the eggplant out of the skin which seems to work ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
To prevent having your baba ghannouj (real Lebanese name) from having a dark color, just add two tablespoons of plain yogurt to the ingredients :) As I am Lebanese, I don't add any sesame seeds to this recipe! I just reduce the amount of lemon juice mentioned above and follow the same steps of baking. I just grill it inside the oven directly under fire and turn it every now and then, then place it under running cold water, to make peeling it easier. Then I place it in a colander to get rid of all the access liquid! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Help!! i hate the seeds...what do i do to get them out of this otherwise fantastic recipe??? also what is recommended to cut down on the watery-ness of this recipe....i thought this was a think and creamy dish? i am sure though that it was something that i did wrong.... will come back to see if there are any posts to answer my plight!! i hate to have kitchen failures....and when an eggplant and a few tblsp's of tahineh are cheaper than a whole container of premade baba i will keep trying to make it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was so good! Only needed around 2 tablespoon of tahini. Draining the roasted eggplant was key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States