B Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Since trying this recipe a few months ago, it has become my go to for bran muffins. I was bent on finding a recipe that included a healthy dose of as many wheat/bran ingredients (not just a hint of one or the other) and this one fit the bill. I make these with only slight changes, and due to family preferences (at the moment), omit the walnuts and blueberries. I add a touch more buttermilk, enough to really moisten the bran, sometimes add an additional banana, and reduce the sugar. I make a double batch every time, as opposed to 1 1/3 cups b. sugar I add 1 cup. I also took another suggestion and added salt. So I now include scant 1 tsp sea salt to the double batch. As Fall approaches, I will be making these and keeping them in fridge for those hurried rushes out the door to school. My children, 5 & 12, both really enjoy them, as do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have made these several times and they always come out moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These were alright, but my family can't seem to enjoy any other bran muffin after I made the Classic Bran Muffins on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I had to substitute some things as I did not have all the ingredients. Ground up All Bran in a coffee grinder to make the 1 1/2 cups wheat bran. Ground up oatmeal to make the oat bran. Used 2/3 cup milk with 1/3 cup sour cream and 1tbsp. vinegar in place of buttermilk. Also used 2 bananas. They turned out GREAT! Moist and delicious and healthy! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious and healthful! I didn't have buttermilk, wheat bran or oat bran, so I made the following changes: I added a tablespoon of vinegar to skim milk to make 1 cup, I included 3/4 cup of white flour, in place of wheat bran I used 1/2 cup wheat germ, in place of oat bran I processed raw oatmeal in the food processor to make 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp. salt and increased the blueberries to 1cup. These muffins rose well and turned out light and flavorful, not heavy and small like most "healthy" muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Super Yum! I did not have oat bran so put oatmeal in instead! Yumm. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy70

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've made these perhaps a dozen times now, doubling the batch on occasion.My husband is diabetic so I replace the 2/3 cups brown sugar with 1/3 cup splenda. I also (sometimes) replace a bit of the oil with applesauce when I have some on hand. These are delicious, healthy and stay moist for days afterwards. Make them the day before if you're serving them to company. They're even better the next day and are much easier to remove from the paper if you used muffin sleeves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Amazing! Since discovered it has been our staple muffin at home. I make it as per the recipe (although I sour my own 2% milk now and omit the nuts so my daughter can bring them to school) and between hubby, 6 year old, 15 month old and me I make minimum 24 muffins a week! Thanks for the perfect delicious bran muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Notre-Dame-De-L'ile-Perrot, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Very moist yummy recipe but I think for it to be 5 stars it needs a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was excellent. I don't usually rate recipes, but my last muffin experiences were so bad I just had to comment that this recipe works!! I also used 2 bananas, but then it was a bit too sweet. 20mins was perfect baking time and I used chocolate chips on top cuz didn't have bberries and used oats instead of oat bran cuz I didn't have it. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States