Azteca Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe!!! Easy and delicious!! I sautéed the onion quickly to take away the bite other than that I followed the recipe and its perfection! Thx Andree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I was surprised how much my family of picky eaters liked this soup. It's a good way to get some veggies into my picky kids. With the advice of the other reviewers, I cut way back on the cilantro and added a bit of lime. To same time and make it more filling, I left out the home made tortilla chips and just served it with store bought tortilla chips and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious soup! I blitzed the tomato, cilantro (including stems), onion, and chipotle in adobo with a cup of the broth in my Vitamix. I then heated everything through in a pot (with the remaining broth), added a 1/2 tsp of cumin, teaspoon (or so) of lime juice, and a dash of chipotle powder and garlic salt. Instead of the fried tortilla strips, I added 1/2 cup of corn meal (polenta) and cooked it through for about 10 minutes. Served with avocado, sour cream, and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Both my husband and I really enjoyed this soup. It definitely has a bite, so adjust the chipotle accordingly. We added a can of corn and some chicken, but kept the rest of the recipe as written. It was ready in just a few minutes - easy and quick. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
We live in Mexico and this soup was better than in any of the restaurants here. The only change I would make is to add more vegetables like red pepper, carrots, onions and definetly chicken. The homemade tortialla chips make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Really enjoyed this soup! I will be making it again. I don't have corn tortillas at our regular grocery store, so I used tortilla chips and warmed them in the oven. I also added a squeeze of lime right before serving and it was great. Hubby really enjoyed it too. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya O'Blenes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
too oniony and watery,had no flavor. should have just gone with my regular old tortilla soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Pretty good.... Both my hubs and I liked this but agreed that the addition of chicken would have been a HUGE improvement. As is, this was a tad boring and really not that filling at all. If it weren't for the quesadillas I served on the side, we'd have have been searching the cupboards later on (we Midwestners like hearty meals, I guess). To speed prep, I purchased a bag of tri-colored tortilla strips. I definitely think adding these and cubed avocado is a must (it adds a little "oomph" to an otherwise basic soup). NOTE: I thought the proportions of cilantro and chipotle were spot on. It really is a matter of preference, so go with what suits your tastes. Served with cheese quesadillas and margaritas, this was a decent meal. I just wouldn't make this again without adding some meat to bulk it up a bit. Thanks for sharing, Andree! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
So good! I could have eaten 3 bowls of this ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I've made this recipe a few times and has always been a hit with my family. Hits the spot every time. Good with a little left over rice added and topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States