Aztec Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I love enchiladas, but did not enjoy this recipe. I'm a texture person, and couldn't get over the corn, and it needed something in addition to sour cream (possibly cream of chicken soup). Overall, it was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Instead of enchilada sauce, I mixed a can of crushed tomatoes with a can of rotel, added chili, onion, and garlic powders, and let simmer for a few minutes. At the advice of anoter reviewer, also added black beans and corn to the sauce. Alternated layers (sour cream with chicken and peppers and cheese, tortillas, then enchilada sauce, followed by tortillas again). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Liked the recipe however, I changed one thing: I used chicken thighs and added adobo type seasonings to cook them as opposed to boiling chicken breasts. Gave amazing flavor to the dish. Even my husband raved about this dish. We'd like to add 4.5 stars we give it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Quite tasty with the changes I made. However, it looked kinda gross. My family really liked it though. I substituted kidney beans for the corn, added chili pepper, cumin and chopped onions. Thankfully too I realized ahead of time that one can of enchilada sauce was plenty, two would have been overkill and made soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
It was good but my hunny and I both agree it seemed to be missing something. Will try again once we figure out what it was missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I thought this recipe sounded great and could easily be adapted to a vegetarian dish. So here's what I did. I finely chopped red onion, garlic and cilantro and sautéed it in a skillet just for a couple minutes, I then added a can of black beans, a can of corn, and approximately 1 cup of Spanish rice that I had made to give it more substance since I didn't add chicken. I made step 2 and step 3 above. I then assembled it in lasagna fashion ( tortillas, bean mixture, and cheese mixture) ending w a layer of tortillas. I poured remaining sauce over the top and baked 45 min. last 15 min I topped w 1 cup of shredded cheese and some olive. Smells delicious! I will post a picture as soon as its out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DD356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I quite like the taste of it and that it was easy to make, but I think this would taste better with a stronger tasting meat like beef or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I love the way this turned out. I normally don't enjoy corn tortillas but used like this they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was really easy, a good, mild enchilada-style recipe for a family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was very good and definitely worth making again but I only gave it 4 stars because, as written, it seemed a little empty. Next time, I'll follow previous reviewers suggestions of adding black beans, possibly olive, etc. Only change made was to add a can of Rotel tomatoes and green chilis (didn't have just green chilis). Pretty good as is. Really good potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States