Awesomely Easy Sesame Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Very quick and easy although I did tweek it a bit (of course). I brushed the asparagus with olive oil and then sprinkled it with a little salt, regular (untoasted) sesame seeds (didn't want to take the time to toast them, I know, busy, busy, busy), and a little lemon juice. Then I grilled them in a preheated grill over indirect heat. It took about 4 minutes. Served this with grilled salmon and grilled potato wedges - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I used regular sesame seeds instead of black and I toasted them until they were light golden brown. It was delicious...even my "I don't like asparagus" kid said he would eat it like that again. I'll make it again for sure. A small word of advice tho...if you double the recipe (I did, I had two bunches of asparagus)don't double the sesame seeds. There was so much sesame seeds that most of it was left on the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
We loved the end results here. And the cooking instructions were right on for our thin asparagus. What I ended up doing was adding a bit of sesame oil to further enhance the flavor, and I didn't use black sesame seeds, just the regular ones. Will definitely be looking forward to preparing this again. Thank you, ZOPOOH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Very good! I used sesame oil in place of the olive oil. Next time I will wait and sprinkle the seeds on once I've plated the asparagus as too many seeds were left in the pan. Great tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I used toasted regular sesame seeds instead of black ones, and they were great. I found the asparagus a bit overdone, and I was afraid to reheat it in the oil for too long because I didn't want it to cook any more so it was also quite cold. Next time I will cook it for 3 minutes so that I can toss it in the oil for longer to heat it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This was delicious! I do not like asparagus, but in the interest of cooking healthier food for my family, I tried it. I added a little bit of lemon juice as suggested by one of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This was so good and easy. My hubby loved it. I only boiled the asparagus for 3 minutes and it was perfect. I also used sea salt instead of regular - it's healthier and I love the taste. I made this with the "Apple and Orange Chicken" I found on this site and it was an easy, delicious, and healthy meal. One of our faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Simple, fresh and really dressed up with the toasted black sesame seeds, with the vivid contrast in color between the bright green and black. I took the easy way out and just microwaved the asparagus for a few minutes until crisp tender. Couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I used SESAME OIL instead of olive oil and everyone enjoyed the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Nice recipe. I used only 1 TBS of regular sesame seeds, and added 1 TBS of lemon juice to the olive oil. I sprinkled the sesame seeds over the asparagus on the serving plate since others mentioned many were left in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States