Awesome Summer Watermelon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Such a tasty salad, I love this one! I halved this recipe because I was the only one eating it and I truly wish I didn't. That's ok, I have more ingredients to make more. I followed this as written and it is so very different, I never had a salad similar to this, even though I love feta. Letting this sit for 30 mins does wonders, the flavors blend beautifully. I can't wait to make this throughout the summer with fresh locally grown melons. It's perfect to me as written, and this would compliment so many grilled summer foods. I made sure I had watermelon, feta, and onion in every bite, this is great. The mustard also adds a wonderful touch to the dressing. I will make this salad often and can't wait to try it out on others! Thanks Evin for sharing this one, this is a keeper for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Used half the dressing and half the feta. I thought it was great! I used a very sweet watermelon, and I think this would work better with a less sweet one, so I'll save this to use again when I have a mediocre watermelon. Great combination of salty and sweet. I don't think this one would work for everybody, but it definitely works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
A very easy and refreshing salad! I have never tried a combo like this before but love all the ingredients in this recipe, so I thought why not? I followed the directions to a T. I only used about half of the dressing total. I loved the salad and so did my 8 yo son. I loved the fact that it did not make a huge amount. Leftovers probably would not keep well. The jury is still out with my hubby but he ate a nice size portion, so I think that is a good sign. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
An excellent summer time salad! I have made this several times and it's always a big hit. I add toasted pine nuts to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunky2222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I really enjoyed this! I only used about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of the dressing that I made and am saving it to use elsewhere. Even my husband, who really does not like when I cook with feta cheese, had to admit that he liked it. Teenage daughter not so fond of it but I'd say it's for more mature tastebuds. Also, found that it was ok as leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
When I used cantaloupe I wanted to give it 5 stars! The watermelon just made it a little too soupy, but I do love the mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is surprisingly tasty. I think other melon types would work as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was a really interesting blend of flavors. It isn't the prettiest looking salad but great taste. We didn't use all of the dressing either, like another reviewer and agree it really wouldn't work leftover. We'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Made this for a Margaritaville party and put a sprinkling of Hawaiian lava finishing salt on top. Definitely has to be made and eaten as soon as it is mixed. Does not keep well for the next day...as expected. People at the party were mentioning about how different it was and refreshing to have something out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Like other reviewers, the quantity seemed large but it ends up you keep going back to it!! All these flavors are excellent together. I did add toasted pine nuts as well. This will be a favorite of ours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States