Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We've been making these for over a year now, and just got around to reviewing. They are killer! We make them at least once a month during grill season. Don't change anything. The longer you marinate, the spicier they get. Overnight, and they are hot. Don't serve to anybody scared of spicy food. Who wants to hang out with them anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideorder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
If you like spicy, try this recipe! Made as written, I gave five stars. Hubby would have given three as he doesn't have as much appreciation for spicy foods. Next time will tone down the cayenne just a hair and put in pitas with cucumber sauce- that'll shut him up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I entered this in our newspaper's recipe contest. Out of over 400 entries, I was one of 27 finalists. I ended up getting 2nd in the appetizers division. I made short kabobs with only 5 cubes of beef on each, and then stuck them into a voodoo doll made from shaped and baked bread. It was fun. I reduced the cayenne by half and still thought they were plenty hot. One of my family's newest all-time favorites. Great for Halloween or football parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I didn't think these would be hot enough for my husband so I gave them a 6 hour marinate time. They were really HOT! Great with onions, mushroom, sourcream and tortillas. I would only suggest that you have to like food that makes you sweat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Oh my, what a shocker, I thought these were going to be "okay" I wasn't expecting them to be this good, thanks for a great recipe, perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Tried this out last night to test for an upcoming family reunion and it's the BOMB! Can't wait to try it out on the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I skewered on some green & red bell peppers intermittently along with the steak. I used Ribeye in place of the sirloin. Served with Jasmine Rice (from this site) & grilled pineapple & peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were amazingly good. My huband and I LOVED them. They were pretty spicey, but we like spice. :) I didn't have time to marinate them more than about 40min, but they will still super flavorful. I alternated them with onions on the kebab sticks which was really yummy if you like onions, too. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stacy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband and now he requests it at least once a week. I also made it for a barbeque and now my best friend is in love with it! I make a seperate version minus the cayenne for the kids. The recipe "as is" is pretty hot--one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Very good beef kabobs. I followed other review's advice and halfed the cayenne which was good, but we like mild spice not extreme spice. They also turned out a tad dry. Will add this one to my recipe book and adjust in the future to make a little more moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States