Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Very easy and very tasty. I admit I only used half the cayenne pepper, because I don't like super spicy. And these ended up with the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I stumbled upon this recipe (IN my own recipe box, go figure) when trying to find something to do w/cuts of meat I'm unfamiliar with from our side of beef. The reviews were fantastic, but I was a little hesitant because Mr. LTH is a big fat spice sissy. I decided, based on reviews, to go for it and 1/2 the cayenne. Due to poor planning, I had to use only 1/2tsp cayenne because I ran out. I added 1/2 tsp chili powder to attempt to compensate. I left out black pepper because I hate it and used beef broth (actually, the new Swanson beef broth enhancer stuff) instead of boullion. These were GREAT both in tortillas w/raw onion and light sour cream and on their own. They were not hot, AT ALL w/using 1/2 tsp cayenne. Even w/sissy Mr. LTH, I think I'll bump it up to over 1 tsp next time (and there WILL be a next time). THANKS, Eating Indy, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These were great. I cut back on the pepper, but they were just the right about of spicy for me. Didn't change anything else. Served it with a cucumber salad from this site, it was a nice cool to go with the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I Love this recipe and so does my husband. We actually have been making the marinade and using it for steaks. Just pan sear the steaks on each side for about 2 minutes in a grill pan and toss it in the oven preheated to 400 for about 8-12 minutes depending on the thickness of the steak. Spices in this recipe are delicious and you can adjust the cayenne to the level of spiciness you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenigyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! I did add a little lemon juice to help tenderize the meat since I was using a cheaper cut of beef and only had time to marinate for about an hour and a half, but these were a hit. I have already received a request to make them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
These were excellent. I cheated and used already pre-cubed stew meat. I also didn't add the extra salt and used about 3/4 the amount of cayenne pepper called for and it was plenty spicy! It was raining, so we put the skewers on the Foreman Grill and cooked for between 4-6 minutes. One thing to note is not to push the meat too close together if cooking on the Foreman. Those that were too close together were still very rare. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Great!! Took advice of others and reduced the amount of pepper and did not add salt. They were great, espically with sour cream and pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Oh my, oh my, oh my ... these are fabulous and the recipe is perfect as is! I made these a few times over the summer, for family and friends and always get rave reviews. Followed the recipe to the letter on the first go around, found they were tad salty for us, cutting the boullion in half did the trick, and you still get all the spice. EVERYONE I've made these for LOVES them. Definitely recommend serving with pita bread (allrecipes has some excellent and super easy tzatziki sauces to go with) to cool your face off though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Used Venison steaks since that is what I had. These are good and spicy. Will probably make again. Sprayed with olive oil instead of using veg oil. Added red pepper and onion to the kabobs and highly recommend this addition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I make mine a little less spicy, but still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dawson Creek, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States