Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
We've been making these for over a year now, and just got around to reviewing. They are killer! We make them at least once a month during grill season. Don't change anything. The longer you marinate, the spicier they get. Overnight, and they are hot. Don't serve to anybody scared of spicy food. Who wants to hang out with them anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sideorder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
these do have a good flavor and spice ratio however that is overshaddowed by the amount of salt. I wasn't sure about the extra 1/2 tsp of salt but I like to follow a recipe the 1st time I make it especially when the reviews are generally good. I should have followed my 1st mind and left the extra salt out. Luckily I only cooked up about 5 of them for a quick snack and taste test, I will use the remainders in a soup or something where the salt can boil off. I probably will make these again during the summer months to cook over the charcoal grill, but definitely minus extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Everyone enjoyed this recipe, I'll make it again for sure. Plus, it's a great way to stretch out the steak on a budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good, easy recipe for kabobs..I omited the 1/2 teaspoon of salt because the bouillon granules are pretty salty. other than that followed recipe ingredients exacty. Let marinade for 1 hour. These can a great kick to them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Whoa!!! THis was GOOD! I took the suggestion to cut the cayenne pepper in half, but ended up marinating the meat longer than called for (for about 4 hours). The meat was very spicy, but absolutely delicious. The sour cream and onion were perfect with it. I served it on warmed Greek pita bread. The next time I make it, I will use a lower sodium bouillon (because this was a bit on the salty side), use 1/4 of the cayenne pepper, but will marinate it for 4 hours. The meat came out so tender! I wish I had bought more steak, because I'd make it again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These were good, especially in the pita with raw onion and sour cream. I was hoping for a little more flavor than I got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
We made this for some friends and it was a hit with everyone! I made half with less heat and it was still spicy. I paired it with the Jasmine Rice recipe from this site as someone else suggested. It was a fun meal. We'll definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is the first recipe I've made off this website and it was awesome! I took the others advice and used 1/2 the cayenne pepper. It was still very spicy. I liked it, my husband wants me to use a little less next time. We have to BBQ an item for a golf tournament coming up and I'm going to make this! I know everyone will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Too much cayenne pepper for me. I think it overwhelmed the flavors. I will definitely make again but use half of the cayenne pepper, maybe even less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were amazingly good. My huband and I LOVED them. They were pretty spicey, but we like spice. :) I didn't have time to marinate them more than about 40min, but they will still super flavorful. I alternated them with onions on the kebab sticks which was really yummy if you like onions, too. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stacy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States