Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Loved these! So spicy & flavorful, but not over the top. We marinated the beef cubes for 2 days as I worried our cheaper London broil would be tough. I did add some wine vinegar to the marinade to help break the meat down. Really enjoyed the grilled veggies which we did on seperate kabobs so they wouldn't overcook. Will use this marinade often-Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This recipe was good.. everyone really liked it at our barbeque last night. However, I cut the amount of cayenne I used in half from the recipe and it was still on the verge of being too spicy for all of us. I got comments about people's mouths being "on fire" and runny noses. Any more cayenne and it would have been so spicy you couldn't taste anything but raw heat. I also grilled some bell peppers and onions with it and used yogurt as a topping instead of sour cream and it was an essential balance to the fiery spice of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe! The kabobs were a hit at my dinner party. Prepared the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We made this last night and everyone loved it! We don't eat many carbs, so we didn't use pita bread. We just had them with grilled veggies, sour cream a little grated cheddar and an avocado salsa. Knowing we wouldn't have bread and having read prior reviews, I only used half of the cayenne pepper called for in the original recipe. Good thing! 3 diners thought it was the perfect amount of spice, but 2 diners thought it was a little too spicy. But, I can tell you that everyone cleaned their plates and I didn't have any leftovers! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truly Scrumptious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Amazing! If using boullion cubes, microwave with the water to help them dissolve. No extra salt needed, as the boullion is plenty salty. My new favourite marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StruttnRooster
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Outstanding. I added a Jamaican hot sauce I bought from the grocery store and it provided more zing for the beef. I also added a pinch of brown sugar. Great meal, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Made this for the first time for a big BBQ, it was such a success, marinated it over night for extra spicey flavor! Very easy, and loved it! Will be making it very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bercher
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great flavor! We cut the cayenne in half and may cut it back a little more next time. Will cut back on the salt next time as well. I soaked the veggies and beef in this for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bercher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I would give this 40 stars! We love this recipe! Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Excellent recipe. I cut the cayenne in half as well and it was the perfect amount of spice for our family. Instead of granules, I used 4 bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States