Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Awesome recipe! I cooked these for dinner tonight and my fiance was beside himself he enjoyed these so much. I followed the recipe exactly except I used tenderized round steak since we had a surplus of it. The meat soaked up the juice really quickly and the 5 hours of marinade time made these wonderfully, delightfully spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
OMG!!!! These are delicious. I didn't think there would be enough marinade so I doubled the recipe. Well I will never do that again. It was a little too spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was AWESOME! I used filet steaks that I got at a good price from Costco so I'd have a little margin for error in case I cooked them too long. We like the meat very pink and they were amazing after just a couple minutes on each side (small pieces, very hot grill). Due to rain, they ended up marinating for a whole day, and didn't come out too spicy at all. Definitely know your cayenne. I've tasted all different levels of spice, all under the same name. :) I served this with warmed up naan bread and plain yogurt. DELICIOUS! If you really like steak, this spicy recipe will serve two. :) Thank you for the wonderful recipe, I can't wait to make this again. **Update: 2 tbsp beef bouillon is equal to 6 cubes and that seemed a bit too salty this time. Next time I'll use 4 or 5 cubes instead for a little under 1.5 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
We loved this. I only marinated for a few hours and it was way too spicy for some in our group, but those who like spice loved this. Several people commented that it has a flavor reminiscent of beef jerky, which I would agree with. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Loved these! So spicy & flavorful, but not over the top. We marinated the beef cubes for 2 days as I worried our cheaper London broil would be tough. I did add some wine vinegar to the marinade to help break the meat down. Really enjoyed the grilled veggies which we did on seperate kabobs so they wouldn't overcook. Will use this marinade often-Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This recipe was good.. everyone really liked it at our barbeque last night. However, I cut the amount of cayenne I used in half from the recipe and it was still on the verge of being too spicy for all of us. I got comments about people's mouths being "on fire" and runny noses. Any more cayenne and it would have been so spicy you couldn't taste anything but raw heat. I also grilled some bell peppers and onions with it and used yogurt as a topping instead of sour cream and it was an essential balance to the fiery spice of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Awesome recipe! The kabobs were a hit at my dinner party. Prepared the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We made this last night and everyone loved it! We don't eat many carbs, so we didn't use pita bread. We just had them with grilled veggies, sour cream a little grated cheddar and an avocado salsa. Knowing we wouldn't have bread and having read prior reviews, I only used half of the cayenne pepper called for in the original recipe. Good thing! 3 diners thought it was the perfect amount of spice, but 2 diners thought it was a little too spicy. But, I can tell you that everyone cleaned their plates and I didn't have any leftovers! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truly Scrumptious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Amazing! If using boullion cubes, microwave with the water to help them dissolve. No extra salt needed, as the boullion is plenty salty. My new favourite marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StruttnRooster
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Outstanding. I added a Jamaican hot sauce I bought from the grocery store and it provided more zing for the beef. I also added a pinch of brown sugar. Great meal, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States