Awesome Spicy Beef Kabobs OR Haitian Voodoo Sticks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I am wavering between 4 & 5 Stars on this one... so I am giving it 5 stars. Although the flavor was awesome- it wasn't very spicy after 2 hours, and it was very salty. I just wanted to say that the spiciness and the saltiness will be greatly affected by the hotness of your cayenne (and marinading time) and the kind of beef bouillion you use. The bouillion I used was a Mexican beef bouillion. When adding it, I held back a bit but I should have at least halved or quartered it so it wasn't so salty. However, the meat was very tender and flavorful and we enjoyed it with a brown rice/lentil mix with fresh chopped tomatoes and cumin/garlic in it. Thanks for the recipe I will continue to make it with modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Super tasty, not as spicy as you might think. Did them in my Geo Forman grill. Put red bell peper, mushrooms and onion between meat cubes. 5 min on the grill and they were awesome. Thanks, Eating Indy, for a simple and tasty recipie. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Awesome flavor!! A little too much heat. 1/2 the Cayenne and a 5 hr marinade worked for us -- Oh! And you really don't need to add the salt (plenty in the bouillon), or do the rolling in the oil step. We added r/y/g bells, red onion and shrooms and did them w/rice....looking forward to leftovers of the whole 9 yards wrapped in a tortilla tomorrow! MMMmmm! Thanks Indy! ***OMG! Next day leftovers heated in the oven, thrown in a tortilla w/leftover pilaf and a shot of Emily's parmesan peppercorn dressing (also from this site) and -- I'm in HEAVEN! thanks again!! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
When the reviews say HOT, they mean it. My husband loves heat but I can't handle too much so I only used a 1 tsp of Cayenne. We barely got through it, my mouth was numb! That being said that was the best numb mouth ever! I added onions and red & green bell peppers between the beef pieces. I also choose to use a bottom round roast. It had sooo much flavor I couldn't not believe it. We love kabobs so I'm always trying new recipes. This is the best one to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great Recipe.. used bovril and omitted the water.. I did cut back to 1/2 the cayenne BUT wished I had not! Loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wonderful dish, cut the cayenne so company could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This had great flavor. I changed some things because I did not have them. Instead of the bouillon granules I used 14.5 oz of beef broth, and did not add the salt. Instead of cubing my meat, I chose a sirloin roast and sliced it thin. I combined all the ingredients and marinaded the meat about 2-3 hours. I did not use the skewers but pan fried without the oil, until done. These turned out to have a great taste as roast beef sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These were a kick in the mouth!! I Absolutely love these!! I also used red onions and red peppers on the kabob and it went great with the meat. I added a couple more cloves of garlic. My husband loves these also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
So good. They turned out spicy but not too spicy. I made it twice in one week! I would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States