Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This came out excellent, instead of water I used 1 cup red wine and 1/4 cup chicken stock. I normally stay with the recipe but just had an urge this time. I don't usually use the slow cooker but had some errands to run. Great recipe.... thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My roast was borderline inedible, so overly dry and cardboard-like it was disgusting. But I think it's my fault - the problem was the cut of meat I used: top round roast. I see other reviews now that recommend other cuts - wish I'd used one of them instead! So this is just a word of warning for those considering it - DO NOT use a top round roast. There isn't enough fat and it comes out super dry and bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I made this on the stove and cooked it about 3 1/2 hrs. I seasoned and browned the meat then added all the other ingredients. I only used half the packet of onion soup mix since others reviews said it was too salty. It was salty but tasty so I peeled and cubed 2 large potatoes to help absorb the saltiness. It helped. I also added baby carrots and a few stalks of celery. I served it with mashed potatoes and the gravy was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight. Used beef stew meat because the price of a 5lb roast was just outrageous. Used a 14oz can of beef broth in place of the water. Par boiled the meat with salt, pepper and garlic powder before placing it in the slow cooker. Cooked on high for 6 hours and it came out just great! My VERY PICKY 7 year old just ate it up and even asked for more! Will be making this again! Family hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K'Lani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawaii Kai, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made my roasts like this for years except I have use Golden Mushroom soup. We used to make this when we cooked for the cowboys when they all gathered at our ranch to work cattle. Believe me, those cowboys could put away the food! They loved roast fixed this way. The Golden Mushroom soup makes a excellent gravy. When I fix it for my family I put the roast in the crick pot, put the soups on and around the roast, put whole potatoes, unpeeled, on top, and then put baby carrots on top. The large crock pot is always completely full. My granddaughter always got excited when I made this because she said she knew that we would have stew with the leftovers. I just cut up all the leftovers in a big Dutch oven, be sure to put all of the gravy in with it, and I put in a large can of diced tomatoes. I also cut up a onion and add it. Put in enough water to cover the stew and salt and pepper to taste. I always make a big pan of homemade cornbread which has a little sugar in it. My family has two meals that are delicious!! The Golden Mushroom soup is the only change I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe! I used a can of golden mushroom soup instead of the traditional cream of mushroom and it was excellent. Made gravy from the liquid and served with mashed potatoes and peas. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
it was great. 4 hours before done added carrots and chopped red potatoes. Hubby said it was the best he ever had. Woo Hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T! And it was delicious!! I give it 5stars for super ease!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I followed the second reviewer's advice (sdgirl) and it was perfect! My boyfriend hates mushrooms and he could not tell that there was cream of mushroom in this recipe. He loved it! And was shocked when I told him afterward Haha. I cooked mine on high for 4 hours and on low for another 4 hours & the meat was so tender and amazing. Next time I'll make sure to chop up 3 carrots, instead of 2; and use 3 garlic cloves to substitute for the garlic salt. Four small red potatoes cut into quarters was the perfect amount. I omitted the celery because I hate celery and the recipe still turned out amazing w/o it. Next I will use a whole white onion, instead of half. When the roast was done cooking, I had to add a table spoon and a half of cornstarch to thicken the gravy just right. Make sure to take out the roast and the vegetables before you thicken the gravy (: This roast does go really really well with store baked French or Italian loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yes...served over cheesy mashed potatoes and my whole family loved it thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 6,225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States