Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've always told my boyfriend that I'm not a good cook which is sort of true. I decided to surprise him with this since it looked simple and it completely blew our minds away. I took some suggestions from the reviewers. I only had a 2 lb. pot roast which I quickly floured, seasoned, and browned on a skillet before putting it in the crock pot. I added some beef stock to the pot and played around with the time since it was a smaller roast. About 2 hours before I thought it would be done I tossed in some small potatoes and baby carrots. A whole meal in one pot. I took the juice left over and heated it on a small saucepan with a little bit of cornstarch to thicken it to gravy. I cannot express how easy and delicious it turned out even for someone who cant make rice. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Awesome pot roast, so easy to make. The gravy that it makes is delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
7/1/2014 Delicious! Makes a great gravy that would be good over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I made this recipe as a last minute dinner for unexpected guests. I salt & peppered the roast and browned it before putting it in the slow cooker. I also added several shots of Worcestershire to the soups and I used a can of beef broth in place of the water. I set the cooker to high and left it until 4 1/2 hours later. I then added carrots and sliced mushrooms to continue the cooking. The roast cooked for another 1 1/2 hours and still wasn't done. The flavors of the gravy were terrific and went well with the mashed potatoes and beans. But I ended up having to put the roast into a pressure cooker to try to get it to an edible place. I will definitely make this again but will do so when I have a full day to cook this on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meginid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great recipe, great gravy. We ate this for 3 nights. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Best pot roast I've ever made!!! Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This recipe was beyond delicious! Definitely seat the meat before....Added baby carrots and potatoes and a little corn starch to thicken the gravy. Husband devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was really very good and all my kids loved it. I did cut the recipe in half b/c my cut of meat was smaller. I added carrots and would have been able to add plenty of potatoes there was so much gravy, but really wanted mashed potatoes today. Added carrots with 3 hours of cook time left and they were perfect. I was in a hurry and didn't take time to thicken the gravy as suggested as in another review, but it was good anyway. Will definitely be making this again with a larger piece of meat as to have more left overs. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Super yummy! I changed it a bit by only adding half a can of water, some balsamic vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, rosemary, and thyme. Same cooking time though and served it with steamed carrots and mashed potatoes. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It kind of cracks me up that the description says that this roast "makes its own gravy." Um... the gravy is what you're adding when you dump in the mushroom soup. It is a delicious recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 6,358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States