Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is a winner. And some of you need to get out and realize that there are all sorts of low sodium products out there. And for the purist: so make your own mushroom soup and use that. This is such a far cry from ''fast food''.....ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I see Blonde Cook hated this. I don't know why. I have my own recipe that has always gotten rave reviews, but my daughter introduced me to this and I use it often. You can't mess it up if you tried. I do however always flour and brown my roast first and I always use a chuck roast for this, versus a rump or bottom round for my main recipe. I have used cream of celery soup and Savory Garlic soup mix as substitutes and it still came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Had a good flavor, we used cream of celery because family members do not like mushrooms. We thought it was too salty so next time we will look for low sodium soup. Our slow cooker has an auto shift function so it cooks on high for a while then goes to low. We cooked using this mode for 9 hours (while at work) and that was too long... will leave on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have made this same recipe for years. Sometimes I brown the roast first and also add some worcestershire sauce. I usually only add about half a soupcan of water though. I like to layer carrots under the roast too. It has always been liked by everyone. I have also used Golden Mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Been making my roasts, both beef & pork, this way for over 30 yrs now. I add about a tbs or so of Worcestershire to the soup mixture. This is just as good in the oven. Just roast for 4 hours at 325 degrees, covered tightly with foil. The gravy is a lot thicker with the oven method. The gravy is pretty thin using the slow cooker, but you can easily fix that with 2 - 3 tbs of cornstarch added to 1/3 cup of water, then mix that into the gravy after you have removed the roast to a platter (cover roast with foil) and let it cook in the slow cooker about 10 minutes, stirring here & there, while your roast is resting. Very flavorful and tender. The gravy is awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have used this recipe for years with consistently great results. I use chuck roast. For a larger roast I double the soups. For a twist I sometimes substitute red wine for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have always used this recipe and think it's the best (and easiest) in the world. Everyone who has had it, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have also made this in the oven. same recipe but I do a 3lb chuck roast. and cook on 325 for 3 hours covered in foil no peeking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Instead of using water with the other ingredients, add 1 1/4 cups red wine. Makes all the difference in the world. I have basically used this recipe for over 35 years. You can also substitute beefy mushroom soup for one of the cans of plain mushroom. It is a very simple & easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
My children are now in their 30s; I've been using this recipe since they were in elementary school, except it was called "Round Steak in Rich Gravy. I quartered the steak & set it in the crockpot, topped it with cream of mushroom soup, one packet of Lipton onion soup mix and 1/2 soup can of water. It cooked all day while I was at work and the smell was awesome when I got home. Poured juices from crockpot into a saucepan, added some cornstarch mixed with a little water, whisk and heat until thickened. Mashed potatoes & veggies on the side. The meat was very tender. I have tried it with pot roast and it's fantastic too. Warning: don't make this on weekends as it will drive your hubby crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 6,285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States