Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used a 3.5 pound chuck roast (because it is what the store had left the day before thanksgiving) and added 1 small sweet yellow onion. I chopped the onion in rings and layered some on the bottom of the pot and the rest on top of the roast. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic powder and cayenne pepper. I also cut slits in the roast and stuffed it with garlic. Put it in the crock pot around 10pm on low/10 hours. When I checked it at 7am, it was so tender and made a beautiful gravy. Being from Louisiana, brown gravy is important for white rice (lol). We did not have to use a knife to cut the roast - just pulled it apart with a fork to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Very tasty. I cut back the water and put only maybe a half cup in as there is always extra liquid when cooking in the slow cooker. Incredibly quick & easy recipe to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
followed the advice of another user and lightly coated roast in flour and garlic salt and seared in butter in frying pan - placed in slow cooker with 3 cans of soup (we had a large roast), added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce as well - turned out amazing even my kids loved it Definitely keeping this one !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Too simple! I also injected mine. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Make it exactly as submitted. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Added thyme,rosemary,and garlic before searing the meat then followed this recipe. Turned out great.The wife loved it. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This recipe was delicious!! The only change I made was that I added baby carrots and salted and peppered the beef first and also browned it in some oil before putting in the slow cooker. I served it with oven roasted potatoes on the side and trader joe's box orzo. My boyfriend couldn't stop raving about it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Wonderful recipe!!! It was so easy and the gravy is wonderful. I used a tri tip roast as the fattier meats would be to greasy for us. I also used beef broth instead of the water. It was a bit salty so I will cut that to half and half. maybe add mushrooms next time....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I modified this recipe a bit to suit my family's tastes but I never would've considered this method until I saw it here. I changed the cream of mushroom soup to golden mushroom and the water to beef broth for a richer flavor. I added peeled red potatoes and carrots right at the start and didn't sear the meat as suggested in another review. I did it on High for an hour then on Low for five for a three pound chuck roast. After removing the meat and vegetables I thickened the broth with a slurry of flour and water and set the slow cooker on High to simmer for ten minutes. Everything was cooked to perfection and the gravy was to-die-for delicious. Thank you, Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and love it. I always add some potatoes to the slow cooker. When it is done you have meat, potatoes and gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila McDougall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 6,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States